HDD Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2005, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Question HDD Problem

First of all, thanks for looking.

Here is my specs:

MOBO: K8V SE Delux
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3500+
GeForce 6800gt
HDD's: 2x Raptor 10k rpm, 37 gb each
Windows XP

My problem is this:

I was running RAID 0 through my Promise chipset with both HDD's and all was good. I was at the point of re-loading win xp (I clean house every 6 months). I blew out the partitions and deleted the Array (which I now know is a bad move). My problem is that I now can't reload windows xp once I re-established the array. The Windows XP disk says it can't load xp because it doesn't see the HDD. I have even deleted the array and just went to SATA. Durring boot mode, it detects the drives. And even in BIOS it detects the drives.

In the mobo user manual it states to build a SATA RAID 0, you need to start with new HDD's. So I'm wondering if I've corrupted the drives, or windows xp disk can't load or partition the drives because they once were an array.

I'm hoping their is a way that I can still use these drives.

Any help would be killer!

I'm dead in the water.....

1sickdude is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 01:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

SATA drivers for XP install?

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3

yes, their is two sets.
1) VIA vt8237 SATA RAID (2 SATA connections on mobo)

2) Promise PDC20378 RAID Controler (2 RAID SATA connections on mobo).

Right now I have the HDD's set up on normal SATA. Durring boot up, it detects the two SATA drives. But when trying to partition drives and load win xp, it can't detect.
1sickdude is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3

about the drivers, yes I have tried loading the FAST TRACK 378 drivers but still nothing.
I've actually just abandoned the idea of RAID at this point. I would be happy with windows noticing SATA drives.
1sickdude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.