HDD Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2005, 12:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to GiZmo
Default HDD Problem

Ok at first I had a PII with two HDDs my second HDD had all my important documents and music and pictures. When I moved all my things into a PIII I had to reinstall Xp, when I was doing that I removed my second HDD just in case it accidentally erases it. When it was done installing I connected my second HDD searched for new hardware found it….Opened My computer clicked on it and it worked. Then I restarted my computer and it says something like Its Corrupted and unaccessible I think when I clicked on it. Is their way I can access it because it’s important I even tried restarting and repairing it but repairing it needed a password which I don’t know. Any one got a clue what’s wrong.

"The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable" thats what it said

GiZmo is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to GiZmo

is their a way to fix corrupted hdd?

GiZmo is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 07:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,246
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07

make sure you didint bend the pins
are they the same format?
is there a os on the corupt one?
is it set as slave master?

CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 09:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Originally posted by CrAzY_GaMeR_07
is it set as slave master?
slave master? it's one or the other.

anyway, if a file is corrupt, your chances of recovering it are slim. the only way you can recover data involves a special lab, and a lot of money.
they then find out not just what the data is, but what the data once was.
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

run chkdisk. sometimes it fixes this error, not often but sometimes. next try something i suggest a lot, use a live-cd linux mini distro like DSL or Puppy. that will rule out anything caused by a windows error.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you dont think the guitar is cool, then youre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 01:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to GiZmo

nvm i was able to recover but files were half jacked up

GiZmo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.