HDD problem.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2009, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default HDD problem..

This morning my computer was fine.. i turned it off to take a nap.. i woke and turn it on and i get a NTLDR file missing out of no where.. im like cool boot up error... well did some research i figure i needed a reformat anyways.. when i try to reformat i found out i was getting that error because my motherboard isn't even detecting my internal HDD at all.. but it was this morning.. so ive changed out the Sata cables... switch around to different sata ports and even bought another HDD thinking my current one crapped out.. nope doesn't detect anything.. but my Sata Optical drive works fine and is detected... it just makes no sense how it was workin just fine hours before this happened... i even did CMOS jumper ive done anything you can think of... it will detect my external drive viva USB when i try to reformat.. it only shows my WD External drive...


Anyways my HDD is in my sig..

i bought a 320GB WD internal drive to see if it was just a bad drive it isn't because my motherboard won't detect that HDD either..
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: HDD problem..

Once you removed the first drive the default boot device changed to the external drive. Since you are installing XP you will likely need to create a driver disk in order to have the Windows installer to detect the new drive and install XP onto it.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 02:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: HDD problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
Once you removed the first drive the default boot device changed to the external drive. Since you are installing XP you will likely need to create a driver disk in order to have the Windows installer to detect the new drive and install XP onto it.
I may have misread something or missed something but when did he say he was installing XP?
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: HDD problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
Once you removed the first drive the default boot device changed to the external drive. Since you are installing XP you will likely need to create a driver disk in order to have the Windows installer to detect the new drive and install XP onto it.
im not trying to install windows XP on my external drive.. im trying to get my motherboard to detect my internal drive...
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: HDD problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakaggo View Post
I may have misread something or missed something but when did he say he was installing XP?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiZcO View Post
i woke and turn it on and i get a NTLDR file missing out of no where.. im like cool boot up error... well did some research i figure i needed a reformat anyways.. when i try to reformat i found out i was getting that error
He is reformatting and reinstalling...




Quote:
Originally Posted by SiZcO View Post
im not trying to install windows XP on my external drive.. im trying to get my motherboard to detect my internal drive...
I dont think that eyeCpc was trying to say that you were trying to install XP on your external drive. He is just throwing out there that since your internal drive was unrecognized, your external drive may have been replaced as your primary boot device. And I believe that he may be offering the opinion that you may need to throw in a driver disk in order for the internal drive to be recognized again.


Does your BIOS recognize either of the drives? Either the original or the new HDD that you bought to confirm/deny a hardware problem?
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 07:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: HDD problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesgroovin View Post
He is reformatting and reinstalling...






I dont think that eyeCpc was trying to say that you were trying to install XP on your external drive. He is just throwing out there that since your internal drive was unrecognized, your external drive may have been replaced as your primary boot device. And I believe that he may be offering the opinion that you may need to throw in a driver disk in order for the internal drive to be recognized again.


Does your BIOS recognize either of the drives? Either the original or the new HDD that you bought to confirm/deny a hardware problem?


Ive had my External drive for months.. and never had a boot up problem. and my BIOS only reconizes my External drive.... because when i went to reformat i saw it wasn't detecting my internal HDD at all thats when i first realized why i was getting the NTLDR error. but like i said ive done everything even tryed different HDD and it wont detect any HDD at all.. but it will detect my sata Optical drives just fine... i even try to install windows on my external to update bios or something and all i got was BSOD and no luck... i mean this was a night and day thing.. shut it down for 2 hours and turn it back on and this is what i have to deal with :/
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: HDD problem..

Maybe the new drive is pooched as well as the first. If you bought a defect drive and the first failed that would easily explain why both drives fail to be detected by the bios.

Another thing you can look at while in the bios is seeing if the sata controllers are enabled and not disabled. If that setting was changed somehow that would explain the problems with the sata optical drive as well.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 03:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: HDD problem..

Test the drives on another pc.. if they check fine then you have a strange circumstance if your optic sata's work on/off the same ports and cables as your HDD.. you did try switching all that around to see if it might just be those couple ports? or your optics worked in the same port?
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: HDD problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hampton View Post
Test the drives on another pc.. if they check fine then you have a strange circumstance if your optic sata's work on/off the same ports and cables as your HDD.. you did try switching all that around to see if it might just be those couple ports? or your optics worked in the same port?
HDD's work fine.. tested them already on another comp. and yeah the Optical drive will work in the same Sata port which i had my HDD hooked too... i even thought it was something wrong with the mobo why it wasn't detecting my HDD so i bought a PCI Sata card... well that didn't work either.. and i did switch all the sata ports around too... still no detection :/
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: HDD problem..

Did you slipstream in the SATA Drivers onto the XP CD? If not that is where the problem is. XP does not have built in support for SATA Drives. SATA came out long after XP and even with XP SP3 you still dont have built in driver support for booting form the CD itself. You have to use nlite and slipstream the SATA Drivers on yourself.

Unless you are saying that the BIOS isnt detecting the Drive at all. You say the mobo so i am unsure if you mean from the BIOS or from the XP setup.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My computer Problem or HDD Problem cichlidkeeper91 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 02-03-2009 12:24 PM
HDD not found. brellan217 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 01-10-2009 02:40 AM
Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable? dominican2589 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 12-14-2008 11:22 PM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.