HDD power up failure - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 09:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

maybe your ide connection is bad
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

IDE conection is fine ... the PSU has been tested in another PC and is fine ... I will just check the voltages in the BIOS and report them to you.
__________________

Brittboy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brittboy
IDE conection is fine ...

do you know that?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

ill try to make it more clear , EricB is sayin that its possible you connected the ide cable the wrong way (on the wrong side) to the motherboard or to the drive or both

Quote:
Originally posted by Brittboy
the PSU has been tested in another PC and is fine ... I will just check the voltages in the BIOS and report them to you.
unless that other pc was 100% identical then it doesnt mean a thing
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:49 AM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
do you know that?
sorry. I just had woke up.

I once had a brand new mobo that was simply frying hdd's. putting the hdd's on pci raid would stop them from dying. I took it back. I was just wondering was your ide connections was up to snuff
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:19 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

IDE cable is connected to the correct slot ... I did put it in the wromg slot to start with (schoolboy error !!) but it is definately in the correct slot now.
Brittboy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

no one said anything about the slot you misunderstood it , i was saying that maybe you connected the ide cable on the wrong side to the drive or the motherboard or both , anyway what about those psu voltages i asked for?
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:27 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Bit new to this stuff ... exactly how do i get into the BIOS to find the voltages that you requested ???
Brittboy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:29 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Also ... a bit confused now ... what do you mean the "wrong side" ???
Brittboy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:44 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brittboy
Bit new to this stuff ... exactly how do i get into the BIOS to find the voltages that you requested ???
usally by pressing del but in some cases its f1/f2/esc , goto pc health/hardware monitoring and they will be there (navigate with the arrows and press enter to access it,esc to exit it)

Quote:
Originally posted by Brittboy
Also ... a bit confused now ... what do you mean the "wrong side" ???
first of sorry if this example looks stupid , your hands have 2 sides

same goes for the ide cable connectors
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.