HDD issues I think - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2007, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 57
Send a message via MSN to f_lightning2001
Default HDD issues I think

I had some problems with my old HDD that came with my comp. So I purchased a new 160 WD. I reloaded XP on it and now it takes forever for my comp to boot up, and when it finally does sometimes it runs so slow. What could be my problem?
__________________

f_lightning2001 is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: HDD issues I think

How long does it take to boot up? And what do you mean by slow? As in the process of installing the OS slow, or something else?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 57
Send a message via MSN to f_lightning2001
Default Re: HDD issues I think

Everytime I try to open something up it takes it along time to open. When it boots up it stays on the black Windows XP screen for anywhere from 2 to 20 min.
f_lightning2001 is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: HDD issues I think

you must have "upgraded" to a slower hard drive 0_0
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: HDD issues I think

try running chkdsk with windows repair.
when i was running raid 0 with 2 faulty drives i did this crap DAILY.


ugh
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: HDD issues I think

I'd be inclined to agree with commandercup. is it just purely running slower than your old system? RAM upgrade might help it as well, what are you running there? you might be able to pop open your case and find it's speed, but probably not. do you know what it's rpm's were rated at? that might be it alone. gl!
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 11
Default Re: HDD issues I think

I had that very same issue on my PC when I built it.If you are running your HD and CD or DVD Rom on a single IDE check your jumper settings,mine were wrong and PC was super slow on boot up and when I tried using anything on the PC everything was slow.I have my DVD Rom on Master and my HD on Slave and that woke it up.
KrazedCanuck is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 02:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: HDD issues I think

How old is your comp? what are the specs? What are some of the problems you had with your old HDD? Is this SATA or IDE?

With this info it will be easer to find out what the prob is.
kyoji is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 10:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 57
Send a message via MSN to f_lightning2001
Default Re: HDD issues I think

It is a two year old EMachines and it came with 512mb ram. I added a 256mb to it awhile back. The HD didn't say what the rpm was. It's an IDE and my hd and dvd are on two different cables. However both are set to cable select.
My mbr was corrupt on the old hd. So I just got a bigger one.
f_lightning2001 is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 01:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: HDD issues I think

try to switch the drive to master, i hate cable select always had probs with it. run chkdisk on the drive to see if there are any bad sectors (that can cause this). You can even try to run a live linux cd if you have one just to rule out other system components, most likely its the HDD.

You can also try to just boot up bare bones, unplug your floppy, cd-rom drives and anything elz you don't really need and see if that helps.
__________________

kyoji is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigafast Router - Connectivity Issues When Running Torrents - Advanced Problem throthedice Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-27-2007 10:12 PM
Hey guys just arrived at the dorm, quick question. Networking Issues pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-15-2007 02:40 PM
Brand NEW Computer Issues...IDK what to do? roadrunner1659 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-17-2007 09:07 PM
Cooling Issues. sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 49 07-18-2007 05:11 PM
Issues with Laptops theopus Laptops and Notebooks 5 07-06-2007 04:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.