HDD Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2012, 07:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default HDD Issues

Okay, so here's the deal. I bought (by mistake lol) a 500GB HDD which is designed for laptops, for my PC. Will I still be able to install it into my desktop, what will I need, and how can I go about doing it?
If you need a link to the one I had purchased just ask.
Thanks.
__________________

AbyssWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: HDD Issues

Is it a SATA HDD? If so, you could probably just find a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter and install it that way. The SATA power and data connectors on laptop drives are the same as desktop drives.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.