HDD Going Slow? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2006, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Question HDD Going Slow?

This month is going bad for me with my computer. First i find out my video card is not working so i think the AGP slot was defective so i buy another mobo which was stupid of me because the video card was defective not the motherboard so i bought another mobo for no reason, but that problem was solved already.

Anyway my HDD seems to be running very slow. I just reformatted the HDD and i scanned my computer with mcafee, bitdefender, ad-aware pro, and spyware doctor and registry mechanic. Nothing works. Is my HDD bad? or just getting old and breaking down?
__________________

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 02:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

u can defragment ur HD to fix fragmented files, or u hav bad sectors on ir HD
i dont know wat kind of HD u hav so these programs should help fix problems:
Fujitsu ATA Diagnostic Tool 6.61
Fujitsu SCSI Diagnostics 2.6
IBM-Hitachi Drive Fitness Test
Maxtor Powermax 4.22
Maxtor SCSIMax
Quantum Data Protection System
Samsung Diagnostic (SHDiag)
Samsung Drive Diagnostic Utility (Hutil)
Seagate SeaTools desktop
Seagate SeaTools entreprise
Western Digital Data Lifeguard 5.04f
Western Digital DLG for Windows 1.07.01
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Its a western Digital, for some reason i couldnt defrag my computer with O&O Defrag on safemode but ill try one of them software your showing me. Ill check it out when i get home.

stevo808
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

many people including couple of my friends have problems with Western Digital if u gonna plan to buy a HD go for Maxtor they last long and, they're reliable.
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sylwek
many people including couple of my friends have problems with Western Digital if u gonna plan to buy a HD go for Maxtor they last long and, they're reliable.
Are you out of your mind? Any experienced member of this forum will tell you to avoid Maxtor drives like the plague. Western Digital and Seagate make much better hard drives.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 04:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

And even more experienced member will tell you that all hardrives are hits and misses. jk Im not saying Im experienced. I have a Maxtor hdd and I love it. Ive also had maxtor drives that I hate same with Seagate and WD.
__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 06:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

ya wat he said my seagate lastest me only 4 years and my older maxtor lasted 6 years and now im still using it on my new rig , im not sure about Western Digital tho.
ey i might not be an experiance member but Maxtors work for me best
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Yeah seagates are my best HDD i ever use. Western Digital is not bad, i just reformated my computer again. I just wanted to get over with already, so far its going fast again. Not sure how long this will keep up, if it does this again i might just buy another HDD. I was planning to buy another one anyway. Thanks for all the help guys!

Stevo808
__________________

Stevo808 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.