HDD Failure: Freeze > Plug it in > Copy data? HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2010, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default HDD Failure: Freeze > Plug it in > Copy data? HELP!

I have a harddrive which is almost dead, and here is the situation:


- It's an external harddrive WD 120GB HHD(I took the cover off, and I will connect it using HDD > USB cable)
- Harddrive still spins(there is a clocking sound) when it's COLD, when it warms up it stops spinning(dies).
- I can trun it on while it's "cool"(room temperature) but i can't open it(windows does not see it). HOWEVER, today when I plugged it in, waited for 90 seconds, that thing when you plugg in new

hardware appeared by the clock(right botton corner), but then the harddrive stopped(most likely warmed up again).

It's almost full 100GB/120GB, and I need all data from it.

Here is what I'm going to do and questions I have:

1. Freeze the harddrive(put it in the freezer)
- What is the best way to seal it? Zip lock back is ok? or should I seal it using something else? Like wrap it to a paper towels, and put it into couple zip lock bags? By doing that I want to make

sure that when I turn it on that there would not be any water so it would not fail permenently due a water + eletricity. Does this sound right?
- Also do you know if i can repeat(the freezing processes) many times? for example: Freeze it, copy data of it, when it dies, freeze it again and so on? or it will die after the first time it melts

down?

2. Plug it in while it's in the freezer

3. Have my fingers crossed that windows will recognize it.
- What would be the best software/way to have it recognized?

This is my first time doing it and I'v read a little bit about it but still unsure.

Any help would be appreaciated.

Edited:

Also forgot to ask:
- How long should I keep it in the Freezer(I need all data, at least the most i can get)
- I have a SLOW laptop(512MB/1.6Ghz) and FAST DESKTOP(8GB/4x2.5Ghz), which one should I use for data transfer?
__________________

Endriuska is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 10:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: HDD Failure: Freeze > Plug it in > Copy data? HELP!

I would recommend against putting your hard drive in the freezer ever. Hard Drives are mechanical so they prefer to be warm (excluding SSDs) also their lubricant may not function properly at low temperatures.
Are you sure it is the fact that your hard drive gets warm that is causing it to stop spinning?
__________________

__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HDD Failure: Freeze > Plug it in > Copy data? HELP!

Actually, the freezer trick does work. I've heard it being done by other members here and elsewhere. Heat should not cause it to not spin up unless you melted it. Heat, however, would hurt the data inside. The platter.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: HDD Failure: Freeze > Plug it in > Copy data? HELP!

I've used the freezer trick before

I would leave it in the freezer for 15-20 minutes. If it gets to cold the platter might not spin. I've had to freeze it, copy data, re-freeze, copy more data, etc...

Good Luck
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 12:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HDD Failure: Freeze > Plug it in > Copy data? HELP!

So that's who I was trying to think who had done it before. it was you I was thinking of, Slay :P No pun intended.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to copy data off a formatted hard Drive leadrollerz System Upgrades 5 05-17-2010 09:55 PM
Best way to copy HDD data to another HDD? dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-02-2007 09:23 PM
Copy data from and to a Microsoft Zune Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 02-28-2007 08:02 AM
HD Failure - Data Recovery topherus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-26-2006 08:25 PM
VMI pool data Disk Boot Failure n00b11 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 05-17-2004 03:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.