HDD capacity is wrong =/ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2006, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default HDD capacity is wrong =/

My harddrive is a 160gig and windows show it as a 127gig. I got windows xp PRO updated completely full.
__________________

__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Default

that's because xp needs to support 48-bit LBA
Without it windows cannot manage this size.

http://www.seagate.com/support/kb/di.../os/winxp.html
__________________

anarchon is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Default

correction : only if you don't have sp 1
anarchon is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

i got sp-2
__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

I had this with my 250Gb hdd all you need to do is download sumthin like partition magic and remove the partition.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...ighlight=137GB
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

woot thanks!!1
__________________

__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.