HDD/Bios help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2013, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
nightelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Equestria
Posts: 41
Exclamation HDD/Bios help?

My bios isn't listing my hard drive as a bootable device. I have no idea what's wrong! When i start my computer up i get this message:

The current BIOS setting do not fully support the boot device.
Click OK to enter the BIOS Setup.
then in yellow text:
Go to Advanced>Boot>CSM Parameters and adjust the CSM (Compatibility Support Module) settings to enable the boot device.

But not only do i have no idea how the hell to set those parameters, i'm completely unfamiliar with this Asus chipset motherboard and it's drivin me nuts!

Please anyone help me out? Took my computer to geeksquad and they told me i need to order a factory restore disk from Asus and i can't even call till monday to inquire about it! It's been a week of me trying to figure this out and i am literally

Thank you in advance for any help!

My computer model: Asus CM1745

Upgrades i have made:
520 WATT Dynex PSU model: DX-520wps
HD Radeon 6870 GPU
__________________

nightelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: HDD/Bios help?

check the drive is getting power, the cable is in the correct port (Slot 1 for boot device usually) Make sure your SATA cable is in good health
__________________

Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
nightelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Equestria
Posts: 41
Default Re: HDD/Bios help?

It is, i even replaced the Sata cable. Everything is plugged in, though i'm not sure what you're talking about by saying Slot 1.
nightelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: HDD/Bios help?

So just to be sure, you are running on the same hard drive from factory? have you tried to load defaults and reboot?

ALSO, DONT TAKE IT TO GEEK SQUAD. They are retards and they will just steal your money!
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: HDD/Bios help?

Keep in mind that this will also still be in warranty. If, and i do stress if, i cant help you, ASUS has a good call center to help you, and they honor warrantys quite well.
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
nightelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Equestria
Posts: 41
Default Re: HDD/Bios help?

Yes it is still the pre-built hard drive. Meh, Asus hasn't been great honestly. I'm still working on getting the factory reset disc from them to give it a try and i'm starting to get gaming withdrawals xD
__________________

nightelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.