HD Wont install XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 02:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default HD Wont install XP

I have a P4 with a 40GB Maxtor drive. The problem I have is that the OS won't install. it tells me there is a disk read error or that certain files can't copy over. Now the HD passed the powermax test...and I have a nice shiny new XP disk.
So I tried anothe HD the same size and everything I get similar errors...
What the heck?

I have been getting this on every computer that has this maxtor 40-GB HD. There are 5 of them, all the same XP pro..The only thing that works is Win 2k. But after I install SP 1, it crashes with a big blue fatal error screen.
__________________

wrinkle35 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

make sure HDD block mode isnt enabled
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

What does that mean?
wrinkle35 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

is it a legit xp cd?

btw my maxtor 40gb Died quickly after i got it.. I would surface scan the suckers.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default HD Won't install

Yes it is a legit CD. I was using a copy, but it would not work.
wrinkle35 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default Re: HD Won't install

Quote:
Originally posted by wrinkle35
Yes it is a legit CD. I was using a copy, but it would not work.
when backing Up xp cds (I do it alot so I don't screw mine up when I use them as coasters etc) and yes mine are legit copies.

You have to copy all the subchannels over (either a nero on the fly copy or alcohol 120%)
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

he says he's using a shiny new XP disk, so unless it's scratched, I think the problem is somewhere else.
it can be the RAM, it can be the hard drive, or maybe the IDE cable
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Default

I am having the same problem with my peice of computer. Let me know if you find any results.
john2562 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

BTW the way he is a 'she' Not to be a bag or anything. I have run the powermax utility and all the HD passes. Why would the cable all of a sudden quit? I mean everything worked until I try to format. Is it possible to over-format a HD?
wrinkle35 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Maxtor sucks, buy a new drive. Use the maxtor for a paper weight.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.