HD showing too many gigs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2005, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default HD showing too many gigs

hi i just got a new system totally up and running and noticed that my hard drive is showing way too much used-space. i have maybe 50gigs of media and then just a handful of programs that ive installed but it says my capacity is at 153G.

when you use explorer and add up everything in the c drive it comes to what it should, 50 some odd gigs. what could this other 100 gigs be from? could it be my hard drive is bad and it just appears full? virus? norton says im clean. TIA
__________________

Ryde is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Defrag and check again
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

okay ill try that thanks...kinda strange for a bran new hard drive no?
Ryde is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

very weird... but if you already have 50Gb. There could be a problem.


You have all the latest drivers right ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 07:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

drivers for the hard drive? as far as i know they should be up to date...the system was built for me by MGD and everything's been running fine as far as i can tell

i'm gonna defrag and also run western digitals diagnostics tool and see what happens
Ryde is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 07:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

well i ran the defrag analyzer and it said i dont need to defrag. also when you look at the color bars on the disk usage graphic in defrag it shows only about 50 gigs too. the other 80% is all white space. ???

i also ran a quick test with WD diagnostic tool and it passed too. there's an extended test too but it takes hours. i guess ill give it a shot when i take off later
Ryde is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 07:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

It could possibly just be an explorer issue. In the network env with mounted vol's they more than sometimes show wrong numbers. It could just be a visual... The real problem would be if you got a disk full error b/c of this. As of right now its not that necessary.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 11:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

well i'm still confused here. i ran the full CHKDSK utility looking for any errors, none found. i also ran the western digital extended test and everything tested good. could it have anything to do with my partition? so far i havent been able to find anything else wrong with anything
__________________

Ryde is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.