HD problemo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Default HD problemo

recently i've been having some problems with my hard drive. i've been getting the infamous blue screen every now and then for no apparent reason and i would have to restart the computer. but when i restart, my hardrive can't be found but if i wait ten minutes, it reappears. then i had a problem with windows so i had to repair it using the cd but in the middle of the repair process, i got another blue screen and i had to restart. that happened one more time and then i wasn't able to repair. now my windows has disappeared. i was going to reformat but my hard drive disappeared, again. is my hard drive dying on me?

i have a western digital 300gb hard drive. my system is only about 9 months old.
__________________

worrwhorre is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

the blue screen normally has an error code write it down and post it.

A blue screen could be many things although doubt its your hard drive. Iv had hard drive die and never had a blue screen could be your RAM, CPU or motherboard.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
the blue screen normally has an error code write it down and post it.

A blue screen could be many things although doubt its your hard drive. Iv had hard drive die and never had a blue screen could be your RAM, CPU or motherboard.
i can't write it down since i can't get into windows anymore. my hard drive doesn't show up sometimes, almost like im unplugging it. i don't think RAM or CPU can effect my hard drive not showing up.
worrwhorre is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

tried different wires?

different connections on the motherboard?

got an old hard drive lying around to test?

looked in the bios options for boot devices making sure hard drive is there.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Default

the hard drive boots and the connections are good. it just doesn't show up sometimes and i don't want install windows again if im gonna have to get a new hd.
worrwhorre is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

have you run checkdisk in windows?

go to my computer click on your hard drive or partitions. Choose properties then in the box that appears click tools at the top.

then click check now where it says error checking. check both boxes and run it.

Apart from that im stumped sorry.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 10:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Default

i can't get into windows so i can't do that
worrwhorre is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to taki23
Default

maybe yhat your memory is defective thats why the blue screen appear.
why not try using other memory or try cleaning your memory teeth. about your HD try checking if its properly installed.
taki23 is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Jumpers?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 07:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Default

how can my memory effect my hard drive not showing?

jumpers are good. its a SATA drive if that helps
__________________

worrwhorre is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.