HD problem sayin hd is no good but this is 2nd one need adv. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2007, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6
Default HD problem sayin hd is no good but this is 2nd one need adv.

Well my friend lives kinda far away. He started having problems with it after some guy messed with it. So he brought it out to me. This guy had put another stick of ram in it (which was one of the problems stopping it from booting). then i went to do a os reinstall and it said the hd was corrupted. So he bought another HD i put that one in and when windows goes to partition it, it says it can't do it its possibly corrupted again crap.

So i tried using different ide cables set it to cable select and master etc etc.
Keep getting the same message. Any suggestions as to what i can try? I've kinda ran out of options here its a old pentium 4 dell machine.512 ram he bought a new 100 pata seagate 160 gig drive from best buy.
any suggestions would be great help.

thx in adv.
__________________

guwangeowns is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: HD problem sayin hd is no good but this is 2nd one need adv.

and this all is happening after new RAM upgrade?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6
Default Re: HD problem sayin hd is no good but this is 2nd one need adv.

no that was a problem but i took that out. the other guy who had "messed" with this machine put that in. I took that stick out and got past the error that was giving.

But then i got a error message saying the harddrive was corrupted.
Tried switching cables around etc just to make sure. Then my friend went out and bought a new harddrive. When the win xp install get to 20% for partitioning the drive it stops and says the drive is corrupted or something is wrong. I tried switching cables etc etc with this drive still same message.
So looking for any advice i was wondering if this drive is actually "no good" or if there is something else possibly wrong with this machine thats causing that.
guwangeowns is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: HD problem sayin hd is no good but this is 2nd one need adv.

You could try to use a windows 98 floppy disk and type fixdisk at the A:. Then delete all partitions and then make a new primary partition. May work.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.