HD problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2007, 08:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Default HD problem

i have a western digital HD that i use as a slave. When i boot up my computer, the HD shows up in the bios and in windows, but when i click on the HD it says "E:\ is not accessible. Incorrect function." Anybody have an idea as to why its all a sudden giving me errors? Anyway i can retrieve my data? I have already tried PC Inspector File Recovery to no avail. Thanks
__________________

__________________
System: AMD 64 X2 6000 Dual Core, Asus microATX mobo, 3GB Mushkin PC6200 DDR2, 2x250GB Seagate HDD, Windows Vista Premium
RavishingRocket is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 08:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 122
Default Re: HD problem

have you tried booting in safe mode? or as administrator. also, maybe try a different data cord ( i don't know if it's ribbon cable, or SATA cable) does that drive make any unusual noise?
__________________

__________________
Pentium D Dual core 2.8 GHz
Thermaltake Big Typhoon (CPU Cooler)
Radeon X 300 Series
Kingston 2 GB RAM
2 Seagate 160 GB HDD 7200
Thermaltake 500 Watt PSU
Sony 17" LCD Monitor
Thermaltake "Tsunami Dream" case
Sony DVD ROM
Pioneer DVD RW
Wverb0783 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: HD problem

I have not tried safe mode. Altho i have tried a different data cable to no avail. There are no unusual noises coming from the drive
__________________
System: AMD 64 X2 6000 Dual Core, Asus microATX mobo, 3GB Mushkin PC6200 DDR2, 2x250GB Seagate HDD, Windows Vista Premium
RavishingRocket is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: HD problem

Are you taking this HDD from another computer? That already has an OS in it?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: HD problem

I tried in safe mode to no avail. This drive has always been in this computer and no there isnt an OS installed on it.
__________________
System: AMD 64 X2 6000 Dual Core, Asus microATX mobo, 3GB Mushkin PC6200 DDR2, 2x250GB Seagate HDD, Windows Vista Premium
RavishingRocket is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: HD problem

did u set the drive jumpers? i think i got the same error when i set both drives to master, but after setting one to master, one to slave, it booted up
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: HD problem

one is master, one is slave.
__________________
System: AMD 64 X2 6000 Dual Core, Asus microATX mobo, 3GB Mushkin PC6200 DDR2, 2x250GB Seagate HDD, Windows Vista Premium
RavishingRocket is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: HD problem

If its sata there is no need to set the jumper to slave. But if there is no os on it then right click on my computer and go to manage. Then click on disk management then try to figure out what is wrong with it from there.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: HD problem

You may have to reformat it to your computer. I had the same problem with my seagate sata 250.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 09:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: HD problem

IDE. Do u still have problems with your seagate 250 sata? Im about to order one.
__________________

__________________
System: AMD 64 X2 6000 Dual Core, Asus microATX mobo, 3GB Mushkin PC6200 DDR2, 2x250GB Seagate HDD, Windows Vista Premium
RavishingRocket is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Computer problem ankit3000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-06-2007 04:42 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.