HD not recognized - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2009, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Honaker VA
Posts: 43
Default HD not recognized

Alright guys i just finished building my first computer and everythings worked fine until i started installing windows vista...
When it gets to the screen when you select your drive it is not there...
I went back to the bios and it isnt being recognized either but my dvdrom is.
Ive tried using different sata cables that i know work and ive tried different power cables from the power supply.

So are there any more steps i can take to troubleshoot?
__________________

Wonderbox is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: HD not recognized

Only thing you haven't mentioned is switching sata ports on your motherboard. Try a couple different ones including the port your DVD drive is connected to. If it still isn't showing up return the hard drive.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: HD not recognized

Might sound stupid, but make sure it's powered. When you are installing Vista and you get to the drive selection you can click on "Load Drivers" or something similar. Then you can install the SATA drivers that came with your motherboard.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Honaker VA
Posts: 43
Default Re: HD not recognized

Well i would love to try your suggestion but for sum reason the system wont power on.
When i press the power button a light flashes on my motherboard and thats it.
Just 30 minutes ago it was up and running and i touch the case when i go to work on it.
I mean i only touched the hard drive when i was changing the cables so im just very frustrated that it worked and now it doesnt...
Wonderbox is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: HD not recognized

You might just have a bum motherboard.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: HD not recognized

Could be a bad PSU too. You'll need to try another. The PSU could have been sending power only through certain wires and now not at all.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Honaker VA
Posts: 43
Default Re: HD not recognized

Alright well i just learned of the so called beep of death and my system was doing it but i didnt know what it meant.
So ill be rma ing back to newegg befor the 30 day oem thing runs out.
So now to the motherboard and psu, i have older systems i could try the power supply out of but im not entirely sure about trying that.
Now when i try to turn it on, There are 2 little lights on my mb that show system status and one of them blinks. When i flip the main power switch on the psu i hear it powering up and down I guess you could say.

Well heres whats going on what you guys think?
Wonderbox is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 06:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: HD not recognized

possibly a short somewhere. what are your specs?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Honaker VA
Posts: 43
Default

Antec earthwatts EA430 430W ATX12V v2.0 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply
BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM-DOA
SAMSUNG 22X DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-S223F - OEM

Im going to essential take it apart then put it back together to make sure everything is hooked up right and if nothing ill just Doa the board i guess.

Any other suggestions?

Alright i may have made a break through although i guess it should have been obvious.
So i took everything apart and thought ill check and see if the fans work so i plug them up to the power supply. Only the 2 case fans. Flip the switch and nothing im not sure but should the power supply fan have started up?
Wonderbox is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 07:05 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: HD not recognized

No not if the computer isn't starting at all.

Please don't double post either. Use the edit function.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI cards (Video card + Video Card) not being recognized after fresh install of XP GMEN316 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-05-2008 10:04 PM
WD USB External Drive Not Recognized leonardmp92 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 24 10-18-2008 12:24 PM
Folding@Home Recognized By Guinness World Records Osiris Sony Playstation 17 11-02-2007 11:42 PM
Problem with a LaCie F800 being recognized Heresy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2007 11:24 PM
USB stick not recognized by XP 220volt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-29-2007 02:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.