HD not formating.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2008, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ApolloIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to ApolloIV
Default HD not formating..

I just built a friend of mine a pc and i'm going to put xp pro on it. Well after putting in xp disk it goes through the agreements and up to the partitioning page. I then select to install and format the HD with no additional Partitions but after it jumps to the Formating page it is suck at 0% and wont move. I also just realized that its suppose to be a 250GB HD but its only showing 127.99. Its a WD Sata HD, any idea why this could be?


Edited:
In the bios it shows it as 250gb and also on channel 2? I have a dvd drive also installed, but when i hooked it up it shows sata 1 is the HD and Sata 2 is the dvd drive. Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Q6600 2.8ghz for the time being
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB
GPU: VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 512MB
HDD: Barracuda 250GB
PSU: Rosewill Stallion Series RD600N
ApolloIV is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 05:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ApolloIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to ApolloIV
Default Re: HD not formating..

Well i just popped in one of my 40gb IDE HD's and i can format it fine. In the past i've never had troubles with Sata drives but it seems like thats the problem here. Ideas? He suppose to pick it up tomorrow but if i cant even get the OS installed i dont see that happening.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Q6600 2.8ghz for the time being
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB
GPU: VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 512MB
HDD: Barracuda 250GB
PSU: Rosewill Stallion Series RD600N
ApolloIV is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: HD not formating..

that's a pre-svc pack xp install...you would either need to slipstream the update into the install for it to see the full capacity or do so afterwards...sometimes with trouble

here and elsewhere, do a search for 127gb limit
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ApolloIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to ApolloIV
Default Re: HD not formating..

Would that be the cause of not being able to format at all?
__________________
CPU: Q6600 2.8ghz for the time being
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB
GPU: VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 512MB
HDD: Barracuda 250GB
PSU: Rosewill Stallion Series RD600N
ApolloIV is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: HD not formating..

not being able to format? the extra space beyond the 127 barrier....you can install...update, and then after your computer could see and format. I think it then treats it as an extra drive/partition. You would then need a 3rd party app to merge them if you wanted a single drive.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ApolloIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to ApolloIV
Default Re: HD not formating..

I cant format it at all, thats the problem. I get the the page where is says formating and it just stays at 0%. I've also tried doing a quick format which will get me to around 20% but then will proceed to give me errors. I think I'm just go and return it since it could just be faulty.
__________________
CPU: Q6600 2.8ghz for the time being
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB
GPU: VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 512MB
HDD: Barracuda 250GB
PSU: Rosewill Stallion Series RD600N
ApolloIV is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 01:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default Re: HD not formating..

is this a burnt copy of xp
or is it retail or oem ?

check your bios settings make sure that all is correct.
you might want to go to WD or who ever makes your HDs web site, they have free tools to format and whatever. try formatting with the tools, then try the install
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ApolloIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to ApolloIV
Default Re: HD not formating..

It is a copy of xp but i've used it before with no problems. I'm checking WD's site right now to see what i can do and see if it works. Thanks for the help, i'll post again after i try the tools.
__________________
CPU: Q6600 2.8ghz for the time being
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB
GPU: VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 512MB
HDD: Barracuda 250GB
PSU: Rosewill Stallion Series RD600N
ApolloIV is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 01:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ApolloIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to ApolloIV
Default Re: HD not formating..

well i got it to recognize the full 250GB but i still cant format it. I tryed the quick format and it formated but it wouldnt install windows, the error said it couldnt find a file... I have used this disk before and i'm sure its just a simple solution but i havent found it yet :-P
__________________

__________________
CPU: Q6600 2.8ghz for the time being
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB
GPU: VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 512MB
HDD: Barracuda 250GB
PSU: Rosewill Stallion Series RD600N
ApolloIV is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
formating my hard drive BOOPDOGMGB120 System Upgrades 5 10-10-2007 03:33 PM
Help Formating 80gb HDD in FAT32 ulater6000 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 09-27-2007 10:52 AM
Laughs at people unaware at all with IT. mssssee2 Off Topic Discussion 9 05-17-2007 03:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.