HD Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2005, 02:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default HD Issues

Well, I tried to install a new harddrive in my PC, a maxtor 80 gig, but when it is hooked up and I boot the system, it just brings up a black screen. It is not even registering the existance of the main 40gig drive anymore. I Tried the jumpers on cable select and also on slave and still nothing. Once I remove the 80 gig, everything goes back to normal. Any Ideas what might be giving me the issue and how it can be resolved?

Thanks
__________________

arkcain is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 07:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 76
Default

CHECK! The jumpers again, it must be: old one (40Gb) MASTER(probably it isn't so), new one (80GB) Slave.
It shouldn't be any problem.
Hope everything will be ok!
__________________

Defence is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Yae, sometimes if you have a single drive in your system, even if it's jumpered incorrectly your system will recognize it as a master. It's not until you put another drive in there you realize it's not jumpered correctly.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.