HD issue on start up. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2007, 11:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

before the restart i get BSOD but it doesn't stay, its up for a fraction of a second then goes back to the beginning of the start up sequence.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

Format it / run a chkdsk.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

it happens with 5 drives and i highly doubt that its a hd issue at this point. and can i format the drive through the bios? and the whole reason that im going through this is because i don't have a windows disk so i have a few hd's w/ xp pro/home on them and i figured i could just pop those in and it would boot up.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 05:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

could it possibly be that my psu isn't giving the pc enough power to boot up?
its a 400W psu and the 12v is 14a

when i start up i get to the start in safe mode. w/ networking, command prompt, last known good config, and start normally. then i get a load bar on the last two and then BSOD...
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

You are still missing the point on needing to install a fresh copy of Windows not expecting a copy installed on another system to work there. Generally usb drives don't make good boot drives except for flash drives since those are a different type.

You have to set one drive known to be good as the default and need an installation disk for the version you plan to run. The only time a previously installed copy will load is in the case of businesses where they use identical systems and clone drives. XP and Vista alike create a new hardware profile when first installed on a system.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

but the problem is it won't recognize any IDE drives and I don't have any SATA drives (referring to dvd/cd drives.) So when I put in a XP installation disk, or a linux disk it won't recognize so I can't load it. Even going into the bios and having it auto check for IDE devices doesn't turn anything up.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 09:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

bump up to the top. help would be appreciated........
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 12:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

Pages #30-#32 are the ones to look at in the manual. There's an option for auto detection of ide type drives there as well as the setting for having the bios do that on it's own as part of the normal post. The default bios settings should already be seeing that.

With different drives, cables, and humper settings there are two other things to consider there. One would be the sockets are bad? not likely with both, or the board is seeing a problem. Loading the optimized defaults would be the first thing you could try to see any of the drives were then seen on the post screen or in the bois setup itself.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 09:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

ok. so went into the bios and currently its set to IDE Channel 0 Master. its on auto and thats the optimized default. It has the auto detection option that if you select a little screem pops up that says DETECTING IDE DRIVE and nothing comes up after it. Same with IDE Channel 1 Master. i've put drives with stuff on them in both IDE slots. no dice. The post screen doesn't see anything. and the optimized options are the defaults.

I'm trying to install reactOS on this computer for now since I don't have a xp disk and it loaded on my laptop, so I know I can boot from it. Also other things that boot from the startup don't work that work on other systems of mine.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 11:45 AM   #20 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HD issue on start up.

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!! I got it to recognize a HDD. I reformatted the drive and shoved it in there. Ok so now goes trying to boot from my reactOS cd.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Strange Power issue Bubbain66 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 08-27-2007 12:43 PM
Issue with start up. Peter.Cort Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-30-2007 12:43 PM
Neverwinter Nights 2 Start Up Issue Rouen PC Gaming 3 06-10-2007 11:47 PM
Unable to start windows??? trose Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.