HD Audio Not Working Properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2008, 11:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default HD Audio Not Working Properly

Mobo: GA-EP35-DS3R

I have two problems, the first one being my main concern.

In my recording volume controls, the volume adjustments are grayed out.


The playback controls are fine, but I can't adjust the input ones.
In the Realtek HD Audio Manager, the input controls don't even have bars at all.
Conclusion: something is stopping me from adjusting input controls.

I have updated the drivers, at least I think I have... I downloaded and installed the HD Audio Codec Driver from realtek.com
Note: this was my second time installing the audio drivers... I had originally installed them from Gigabyte.

I can hear sound fine from my speakers and headset, and my microphone works... I just can't adjust the volume (I mainly want to adjust stereo mix).

I've searched around and some other people have had this problem... the best answer anyone had was "maybe your drivers don't support it."

Any ideas?




Question #2:
I use Ventrilo a lot. (Ventrilo - Surround Sound Voice Communication Software)
Ventrilo uses Text-to-speech for various functions, but my text-to-speech is no longer working.
I tried both of the solutions on ventrilo's website, listed here:
Ventrilo - FAQ

No dice. Everything else works fine, I simply cannot hear text-to-speech.

Any help on either of these issues would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Spit-wad is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

is your onboard audio HD or AC-93?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

I had both plugs available, but I plugged in HD...

I switched it to AC-93 to see if it fixed either of the problems, but no dice

So now it is back to HD
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 12:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

when you click on the "options" tab what does it pull down?
what operating system are you using? 32bit or 64bit?
btw...i may be able to help with the audio/mic issue but i know absolutely nothing about ventrillo. sorry.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

That's fine... if you can fix one problem, I'd be happy

XP SP2 32bit

Under Options all I have is Properties... Advanced Controls is grayed out.

Under Properties I have drop downs for:
Realtek HD Audio Input
Realtek HD Audio Output
Realtek HD Digital Input

The screenshot I posted in the first post is for Realtek HD Audio Input.
I am having no problems with the output.
And Digital Input only has one volume control: SPDIF (not sure what that is)

Halp!
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 03:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

Just Wondering if anyone has solved this.

Same senario. Motherboard P5Q w xp/sp3

My Audio inputs are ghosted in Master Volume as well as in Realtek Audio Manager.

The funny thing is Realteck had a tab to view Audio I/O. When I plug in the mini plug line in the thing lights up and get a pop up sayin i plugged something in a audio jack. So then, the connection is working, but no audio signal. Whad up?
willie634 is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 11:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

Never fixed it... from what I've gathered, some onboard audio just doesn't support the specific volume changing... but you can change all of it through the main volume control (on the left in my screenshot on the first post)

And yes, the Realtek Audio Manager recognizes that you plugged it in, because you are getting a signal... you can still use the microphone, right? You simply can't use stereo mix and some other adjustments.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 11-15-2008, 11:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

Yes the Mic works, but no good for audio recording. I hate to have to go buy a new audio card.

The Line In levels are ghosted in realtek aswell.

Is there a Audio driver that doesn't have Realtek Audio Manager attached??
willie634 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 03:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

YAY!!! Got er fixed.

It was one of two things...

-I installed a fresh copy of windows
-and i put motherboard in a new tower that has audio jacks in the front. the plug that plugs into the motherboard has two jumpers on it. i think this is what fixed it.

cheers....
willie634 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 03:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: HD Audio Not Working Properly

interesting...
thanks for posting back your results!
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB drive not working properly! phantom555 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-08-2008 11:22 AM
Ultra Noob Fedora Install - Sounds card (realtek AC'97 Audio) not working Jougukny Linux and Open Source 1 11-21-2007 01:53 PM
Display driver 'is not working properly' help! Sgt Wild Lion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 08-27-2007 03:11 PM
HD Audio not working soteman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-07-2007 07:13 AM
Drive Monitoring not working properly! phantom555 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-01-2007 11:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.