Hd ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2005, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Hd ?

I finally got my puter to recognize a 160gb drive that I put in. But why does it say its only 127gb?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Do I need to format my drive? If I do, do I do quick format or not.
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Ok, update. I have read that for some reason..Ata 100 only supports up to 137GB, it is a hardware limitation. Dont know why they would make a 160gb ATA 100 HD then...?
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Its a limitation for Windows. If you have service pak 1 atleast you should be able to see the remaining space. Go to control panel > Administrative tools > then Computer management > then click storage and then disk management. It will show the partitions already setup and hopefully you will be able to see the remaining hard disk space that is unpartitioned. Just format and then your good
__________________
Pentium Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz
4Ghz 1066 RAM
2x 500G SATA II HDD
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS4
GeForce 8800GTS 320MG
Themaltake Armor

_______________________

Diploma in IT Computer Networking
Bachelor of Computer Science
chooka is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

either one: get Sp2 or two: partition the rest of the space using Fdisk into another partition
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i think we need to make a sticky thread about the 127gb barrier. there are WAY too many threads on this
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.