HD 5870 Temp. - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2013, 09:55 AM   #51 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
Did you go with the cooler that was posted about before? This one?
Yeah.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:02 AM   #52 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Did you put all of the heatsinks on the card that came with the cooler, and re-pasted?
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:36 AM   #53 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHumanComputer View Post
Well, the new fan didn't seem to help it... Its running at 55oC - 60oC and the fan is at 50%....

Help!?
Is that load or idle? How much paste did you put on the GPU?

If your load temp remains below 90c, it doesn't really matter. Then again, I did say I wouldn't personally get that cooler for a reason. It's not very good.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:42 AM   #54 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

@PP Mguire Oh... i didn't see you say it wasnt a good cooler, sorry. And it was the only one i could find What one would you recommend? And yes, that is at IDLE. 0% Load.

@Yevrag35 - Yes, i put all the heat-sinks on, and i put the paste on that come with the cooler.

I just took it up the PC shop, he said it could be a faulty BIO's? Or something, and its reading wrong, not too sure, How do i update the BIO's for the graphics card? I have installed new drivers for it already. It's still running at 55oC.

Screen shot of it down below. 0% load, @ 55oC.

He said to test a game on it as well.
Attached Images
File Type: gif HD5870temp2.gif (17.4 KB, 1 views)
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:48 AM   #55 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Use MSI Afterburner. The 5000 series has several temp sensors within the GPU. I bet you'll find the 42c one is your actual temp.
I was asking how much paste was being used. That is key, as too much can hamper performance.

You can't have a faulty bios. If you did, it would have done this from the start.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:49 AM   #56 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Use MSI Afterburner. The 5000 series has several temp sensors within the GPU. I bet you'll find the 42c one is your actual load temp.

You can't have a faulty bios. If you did, it would have done this from the start.
Alright, i'll give it ago. thank you. Will post back once installed/tested.

Where should i download it from?

As for the paste, sorry! i'm getting confused and has been a stressful day. I put a small blob in the middle of it, and that was all.
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:56 AM   #57 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Good on the paste.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...50723672,d.b2I

Edit: Just as a heads up, GPU-Z reports the same amount of GPU temps for my 5850. That's why I use MSI Afterburner as it only provides a single GPU temp which is the actual temp. The others are meant strictly for the GPU bios and its fan ramp profile as they are sensor probes in other parts of the GPU die.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:56 AM   #58 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post

Yeah, i got it haha, sorry :P

*EDIT*

Still showing the same temp

I have the new cooler plugged into the card, but when i up the speed, it does nothing? Should i plug it into my motherboard or something?

Blah this sucks
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 11:41 AM   #59 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Load it up, what is the load temp? That's all that matters.

Is it a 3pin standard fan connector?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 11:41 AM   #60 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: HD 5870 Temp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Load it up, what is the load temp? That's all that matters.

Is it a 3pin standard fan connector?
Its the other one, like a plug? 4 pin i think. I have an adapter with it so i can use it as 3 pin.

How do i get a load Temp? Want me to run a game?
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.