HD 4850 Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default HD 4850 Problem

Hi all,

I recently brought a HD 4850 and it worked flawlessly for 2-3 days on games like grid & cod5 all maxed out settings inc AA.

yesterday it started to get really sluggish after about 15 minutes of playing a game.
I changed drivers from 9.1 to 8.1 and it still does the same. I havn't changed anything in options or registry for it to start conflicting.

It isnt overheating 33c idle, max 55c load

Nothing else is taking up resouces in task manager.

my specs are

e6400 @ 2.7ghx
2gb 800 ram
gainward 4850 512mb
ASUS P5VD2-MX board
550W PSU

Any help would be appreciated
__________________

baked188 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

Run virus and spyware scanners.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 02:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

when you reverted the drivers did you use something like Driver Cleaner or Driver Sweeper to remove any leftover files?

i suggest for the sake of making troubleshooting easier you take everything back to stock clocks. also make sure the pci-e power connector has not come loose.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 05:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

Also, make sure the PCI-E bandwidth didn't somehow get changed in your BIOS from x16 to like x4 or something.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

Thanks for all your replys.

In the end it was the fan speed, when i turned it on manual and put it up to 50% everythings been fine since.

My old 8800gts ran at 80c load so i assumed a 4850 running at 55c was fine, obviously not
baked188 is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

that has me worried, i'm pretty sure my Radeon runs significantly hotter.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 06:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

Mine runs 50ish idle... ATI cards are designed to take the heat...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 10:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

same here
mine with fan on auto
idles 69c
folds at 89c
no problems here
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 10:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

I came to that conclusion because when im playing Grid or cod5 with fan on automatic after 15 -20 mins of playing my fps drops and it lags/stutters.
with the fan on at 50% it plays fine for hours (several)
idle around 32, load around 50-55

Maybe my power supply isnt giving enough amps its 550watts no idea about the amps thou.

EDIT: PSU is 500W not 550, It had 18a on 12v & 12v2 lines, i suspect this isnt enough
baked188 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 02:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: HD 4850 Problem

power is a possibility, what manufacturer is the PSU? unless it's a dodgy PSU i doubt that it's not providing enough power. my system runs fine with my 480w.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4850 X-Fire or 4850 Watercooled?! NosBoost300 Overclocking and Modding 23 09-21-2008 07:26 PM
Problem installing software in windows xp pro imagesmith Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-20-2008 02:46 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.