Having trouble with my motherboard and RAM. Please help me!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2007, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default Having trouble with my motherboard and RAM. Please help me!!

Hey all, I'm building my first PC and I'm having some trouble.
My parts:
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
evga 8800gts
Antec one two trio 650W power supply
WD 600gb Sata HDD
Lite-ON DVD Drive
pqi 2 GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR3 533 PC2 4200 RAM
Intel DG965WH Media Series Motherboard

I got everything hooked up, and my tower power LED kept flashing, and the motherboard was not POSTing. I was using an Intel DG965WH Motherboard, and the RAM on it was qi TURBO 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory. I researched the motherboard, and that RAM is not compatible because it has such a low latency.(I'm not 100% sure about that, this is where I need the help.) I found it would be cheaper to get a better MoBo instead ofreturning the RAM and reorder compatible RAM because of a restocking free, so I found this motherboard. ASUS P5N-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard.
So basically, will my RAM work with this motherboard, I really can't tell. I need to know ASAP because i Need to order the part before I leave for school this weekend. Thank you for the help!

Xenofei is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

I cant even find this motherboard on the Asus web site. You go to there site and look up the QVL list for your motherboard. That is the acceptable ram list.

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23

If you have any old non-dual channel DDR RAM lying around it could work in the dual channel.
datapimp is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 11:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 49

I do know that the p965 chipset is very particular about memory. It must be 1.8 volt, with timings of 5-5-5-15 (and I don't think your memory fits this bill). You might try manually setting memory voltage and timings in the bios, if possible, and see if you can get it to boot up on the Intel board.
dmj94044 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.