Having Problems With Current SETUP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2009, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Having Problems With Current SETUP

Before i get into this let me post here what im working with currently. I am also a noob with computers.

EN9800gtx+ Videocard
Canada Computers - Video Cards > PCI-Express Cards > Powered By nVidia : Asus EN9800GTX+ DK /HTDI/512M nVidia GeForce 9800GTX+ Chipset (775Mhz) 512MB (2.36Ghz) DDR3 Dual Dual-Link Display PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card.

Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600
Canada Computers - CPU > Desktop Intel Processors : Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad-Core Socket LGA775, 2.40 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB, 8MB L2 Cache, 65nm (Retail Box) (BX80562Q6600).

Mushkin HP2 6400 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 5-4-4-12 (1.8V) 240pins
Canada Computers - Memory > Desktop Memory > DDR2 800 PC2-6400+ : Mushkin HP2 6400 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 5-4-4-12 (1.8V) 240pins (996587).

Asus P5K Socket 775 Intel P35 ICH9 Chipset Dual-Channel DDR2 1066/800/667Mhz SATA 3.0Gb/s 12x USB 2.0
Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Asus P5K Socket 775 Intel P35 ICH9 Chipset Dual-Channel DDR2 1066/800/667Mhz SATA 3.0Gb/s 12x USB 2.0.

Now i am running vista sp1 32bit

Would it increase my graphics if i were to go to 64bit?

My question for you guys is why is it when i run any games i have trouble maxing out my graphics setting. This video card is capable of running Fallout 3, Mass Effect and game you can think of on the max setting.

Apparently i may not know what i am doing and may have messed up with the motherboard. I didn't see it fit to purchase another one but please let me know guys am i wasting the parts i have in there on this motherboard? Am i getting the maximum use out of my parts?
__________________

arabozuk is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 01:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Having Problems With Current SETUP

64 bit would not let you "increase" your graphics. It would allow you to access around 1gb more of your RAM but that would not make a huge difference. what resolution are you gaming at?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Having Problems With Current SETUP

Have you updated the drivers for your card?
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Having Problems With Current SETUP

Updated drivers and im running at 1680 x 1050
arabozuk is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Having Problems With Current SETUP

At present your 9800GTX is a lower mid-range card and it's only going to get slower as newer games arrive. Your mobo supports Crossfire but your running an Nvidia card. If you had went with an ATI card you could add a second card for more power. As it stands your best bet is to buy a good aftermarket gpu cooler and overclock your card for a small boost (3-5 extra fps if your lucky). After that a newer more powerful card would be the shizzle. And a ATI card would let you upgrade to Crossfire later down the road when the prices drop and you need another power boost.

Or you could get an Nvidia SLI mobo and a 2nd 9800GTX.
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Having Problems With Current SETUP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
At present your 9800GTX is a lower mid-range card and it's only going to get slower as newer games arrive. Your mobo supports Crossfire but your running an Nvidia card. If you had went with an ATI card you could add a second card for more power. As it stands your best bet is to buy a good aftermarket gpu cooler and overclock your card for a small boost (3-5 extra fps if your lucky). After that a newer more powerful card would be the shizzle. And a ATI card would let you upgrade to Crossfire later down the road when the prices drop and you need another power boost.

Or you could get an Nvidia SLI mobo and a 2nd 9800GTX.
well i was on a budget and 200 was all i could spend. BUT i have some extra money now and i could still return the card and exchange fora new one. i will be willing to spend and extra 100 on top of the original price so around $340. If there is any way you could go to this website Canada Computers - Your Neighbourhood Computer Store and Service Centre - PC Systems and Hardware Components, Notebooks, Electronics, and more. and look to see what i can possibly buy that would be awsome and greatly appreciated.

I am a noob when it comes to this stuff.

I was thinking about this card Canada Computers - Video Cards > PCI-Express Cards > Powered By nVidia : BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC Nvidia GeForce GTX 280 Chipset (615Mhz) Shader Clock (1350Mhz) 1GB GDDR3 (2214Mhz) Dual Dual-Link Display PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card. but the instant $110 rebate is scaring me... dont know if there is something wrong with the card
arabozuk is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Having Problems With Current SETUP

How about $357

Canada Computers - Video Cards > PCI-Express Cards > Powered By nVidia : EVGA GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 896MB (896-P3-1265-AR) nVidia GeForce GTX 260 Chipset (576Mhz) 896MB (1998Mhz) GDDR3 Dual Dual-Link DVI PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

« Help please. | help »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Is this a good setup for gaming? PatrickHardy Laptops and Notebooks 6 12-07-2008 10:31 AM
Setup is loading files (kernel debuffer DLL)... Payne99 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-26-2008 02:18 PM
Reformatted computer, but have problems.. ruderitalin Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-11-2008 09:40 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.