Having BIG Trouble with my PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2005, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Having BIG Trouble with my PC

Im Having some BIG Trouble with my PC...when i do stuff on it it gets slow and then it goes back to fast again..its gets slow for like 20 seconds then get back tyo normal again..it only does this when i do to much stuff on it...but i can hardly do anything on it.....when ever i use windows medi player and i search the net it might get slow..it only get slow hwn eim using like 3 or 3 programs at 1 time...i didnt use to do that but i has been doing it for the las m3 months

any advice on how to fix that ?

please help really needed
__________________

Entourage is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Can you post your machine specs ?
This can be a number of things.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 12:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Also post what antivirus and spyware cleaner you use?
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

what do you mean by specs ?

im not using any anti-virus right now...i have downloaded some and run a sacan and romved the viruses found but that still dosent make a difereence.....also i have the Windows XP Presfesional disk and i have intalled a fresh copy of it on the pc but it still does the same thing.

now is not the memory cause i have alot left...look

Entourage is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

spec=specifications.

list the components of your pc.

if you do not know this, google for lavalys everest home.

btw, RAM is reffered to as memory, the screenshot you showed was harddrive space.
joshd is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

more detailed:
What kind of Motherboard ?
What Kind of Memory?
What Kind of CPU ( processor ) ?
What kind of Graphics Card ( although not really useful in this topic) ?
What Kind of Hard Drive >
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

im sorry but were do i find that infomartion on the computer ?
Entourage is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Device Manager will tell you a little about your machine.
You can also download and install CPU-Z and that will show some important specs. You will then need to take print screens of your cpu-z info and post it here.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

you mean this ?

Entourage is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

When you reinstalled XP, did you install it over the old version, do a repair, or a complete format and reinstall?
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.