have i broken it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2013, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 15
Unhappy have i broken it?

I'll take you through the line of events as i don't know which may have caused it.

I was trying to install a pcie wifi card into my server.
it was a little too tall to fit through the slot, so i filed of a tiny bit of the solder from the bottom of the plug for the aerial (This may sound silly but the card was free and i didn't really care if it broke, i looked and nothing was shorting etc.)
I plugged it in however to do this i needed a little right angle pcie extender what with the server being flat.
I only had one of these but it was being used by another pcie card which i didn't need (I don't even know what it was)
so i unplugged it from that and connected my wifi pcie card with it.
I plugged the server in at the wall, powered it on. it doesn't come on.
I begin to wonder if i have plugged the wifi card in the wrong way round, since for some stupid reason it fits into the slot either way. (as you can tell by now i know very little about the insides of computers)
i turn it round.
plug in the server, makes a strange squeak, however at the time i somehow didn't realise it was coming from the server.
Servers fans spin for a bit as though its going to come on for about 3/4 seconds
so i unplugged the wifi card. plugged the unidentified pcie card back in.
boot server.
fans spin power light flashed. but nothing else.
it also smells a little like it may have burned out. but it hasn't because the fans are going etc.

and i don't have a spare psu to try. (although if this thread doesn't have the answer will probably get an old one.)


Lemonade1947 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 8
Default Re: have i broken it?

Electrical burn would indicate a burnt out PSU, but not always..
From my understanding you made the card fit by filing (with a file) down the PCI Slot or perhaps another slot. Which that alone is very bad. Never make something fit where it doesnt orginally.

Did you unplug anything from the motherboard? perhaps the 4pin located by the CPU.

winslade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,056
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: have i broken it?

Things not to do:

1. File a pc part.
2. Insert pc parts any which way you think might be right and cross your fingers.

Things to do:

1. Google the model number of the part you're working with; lookup installation documentation.

2. Not file pc parts.
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,037
Default Re: have i broken it?

Sounds like you fried the board.
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: have i broken it?

Are you sure you are putting the PCIe card into PCIe slots??? It should not physically be possible to switch the card around backwards unless you are putting it into a PCI-X slot.... In either case, you probably fried the motherboard if you put the card into the wrong slot. Pictures would help greatly.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,993
Default Re: have i broken it?

Do Not:
1. since for some stupid reason it fits into the slot either way.
i turn it round.

Very Bad Juju:
1. plug in the server, makes a strange squeak
2. it also smells a little like it may have burned out.

On a side note: They only put a certain amount of burnt smell into your pc, if that burnt smell gets out, you can't put it back in and your pc will not run with out it

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.