Has anyone seen or heard about something like this before? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2007, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default Has anyone seen or heard about something like this before?

Ok, when I launch a specific game (while knowing and checking that my display is in 32 bpp mode already) the screen flashes an comes back in 8 bpp mode! I know this because I have enough time to open my display panel and look. On a regular basis I can't even have the option of putting windows XP in 8 bpp mode! The error message then pops up "Windows display must be in 32 bpp mode". The screen then flashes again and i'm back in 32 bpp mode. So i'm thinking this program is somehow changing my display setting on the fly. I have the new Nvidia drivers install and have tried just about everything. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

BTW- here's a screen shot of the error message and what it looks like.

YourFileHost.com - Free hosting for ALL your files

__________________
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 08:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Has anyone seen or heard about something like this before?

Some older games are required to run in 8 bpp what OS are u running windows xp ?
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: Has anyone seen or heard about something like this before?

Same exact thing happened to me but the only way I could figure out how to fix it was by reformatting.
SpRi7e is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: Has anyone seen or heard about something like this before?

LOL! reformat!!! ARgg!!!! Thanks guys, thats what i thought
By the way i'm running windows xp
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 12:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Has anyone seen or heard about something like this before?

Have you looked for a patch for the game? Maybe there is a fix you can apply to the game instead of Windows.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 06:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Has anyone seen or heard about something like this before?

probably older games are 256 color so it doesn't need to be in high color or true color settings so if you want to change the color settings there might be tweak so it won't need to go to 256 when running the game.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the worst music you've ever heard? MrZucchiniHead Off Topic Discussion 94 09-19-2007 08:29 AM
Just heard of Dreamweaver cs3. Replacement for html and css? stainer711 Web Graphics and Design 17 06-19-2007 08:27 AM
Anyone heard of Bsafe online it is some kind of virus protection. sakatosan New Technology and Products 2 05-19-2007 08:34 PM
I heard a rumor on newegg is it true? veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-08-2007 05:30 PM
have you heard...? Nagasama New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-27-2007 01:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.