Hardware troubleshooting trick - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2009, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Hardware troubleshooting trick

I picked up a trick somewhile back when trying to figure out why my machine no matter how many parts I replaced would not power on, I changed the PSU first, Then the ram, then the MB and still no fans no beeps (post) so I took out everything but the PSU and MB, guess what.. I got fans and beeps (post) so I put everything back in 1 piece at a time, starting with ram and then I got to the GPU and boom no fan no post. so it was just a bad GPU causing the whole machine to not work.. had the green light on the board but nothing else.

So if your PC has no fans or no beep (post) when you press the power button.

Pull out EVERYTHING but the PSU and Motherboard, and if it wont beep then.. try a new PSU and then MB, or if it beeps start putting things back 1 piece at a time, booting each time until you find the defective hardware.
__________________

__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Hardware troubleshooting trick

thanks for the post, it is pretty much standard troubleshooting procedure.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Hardware troubleshooting trick

I thought so too, but seems like many ppl that are new here don't know to do this.. maybe instead of typing this over and over we can reference this post when needed..
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default Re: Hardware troubleshooting trick

Thats why when i upgrade several items at once or build i test run after certain items.
I installed a TX750 hooked it all up ran the system, prior to installing the GTX260
Same goes for upgrades for me as it does trouble shooting.. if its multiple items its good to go one at a time that way if you run into trouble its easy to narrow down.
I also normally post on the table with the mobo out of the case on a new build but i do it
CPU, PSU, RAM (given theres onboard graphics ofcoarse) and short the switch make sure i have post before i install it in the case. just habit.
__________________
http://www.forum-signatures.com/wiza...3454627674.gif

Core i7 920, MSI X58 Plat. SLI, 6 Gigs Mushkin 1333,
Corsair TX750, Samsung Sata 2 500, VISTA 64 :cool:

UNIVAC: a device, which contained 20,000 vacuum tubes, occupied 1,500 square feet and weighed 40 tons; there was also a laptop version weighing 27 tons.
Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Hardware troubleshooting trick

We already have tons of stickies on general troubleshooting.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 02:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Hardware troubleshooting trick

When mine didn't post I did something similar however I left all the internal parts in and removed my usb hub, ipod, mouse etc and that helped. But as said earlier it is a standard proceudure to booth with only barebone components.
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 15 05-20-2009 03:22 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM
**READ FIRST** Hardware Stickies Index Trotter New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-05-2007 10:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.