Hardware problems still exist... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2009, 04:29 PM   #21 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

well guess wat
i got this ram
xms 2 timings are 4 4 4 12
i talked to one of the co workers who really know sme for a while and he's like comlain to the manager that ppl over at the store suggested you to do all this...so i went up to him and he's like bring all your stuff back and we'll see what we can do....
the co worker said they will prob take the mobo back but not the cpu which is good enough atleast.

now im gonna put my old system back with the p35 and q6600 and pray it works...then pack the new stuff and return it
i dont wanna upgrade anythin tbh...im happy with what i have!
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 04:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Well good, if the store gusys got you to buy the mobo, then they should have to take it back.

A spare cpu isn't a bad thing though.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 08:04 PM   #23 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Well good, if the store gusys got you to buy the mobo, then they should have to take it back.

A spare cpu isn't a bad thing though.
well guess wat EVERYTHING WORKS NOW....wooohoo
gonna goto the store now and see if they'll take anything back
thanks for your help everyone

and paton...u were right about the ram from start
thanks..
didnt even have to reformat since it was only me replacing the ram....
might install vista on the new hdd..and keep xp on this.

cant wait to start foldin!!!!
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 11:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Western NY
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to wratchetwrist Send a message via Yahoo to wratchetwrist
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Glad your problem got fixed!
wratchetwrist is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 01:23 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

lol, ram is always one of the first things you should check when troubleshooting an oc'd system that wont post.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 01:26 PM   #26 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
lol, ram is always one of the first things you should check when troubleshooting an oc'd system that wont post.
lesson learnt!
thats what my plan was in the first place but i got carried away...

its runnin at 5 5 5 18 now ...gonna change it to 4 4 4 12...
cpu is still runnin on stock setttings ...for now
just glad to get everythign back...using vista and its amazing...
everything workin out too well.


thanks for all your patience and helP!
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 11:39 AM   #27 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

well i filed and rma with crucial and this is the email i got from them.


Hello Qasim,

Quote:
Thank you for contacting Crucial. The replacement modules you will be receiving incorporate a new chip build, which operates at a lower voltage than the modules you are returning. The original Ballistix modules operated at 2.2 volts, while the newer build only requires 2.0 volts. Please make sure this adjustment is made in your system BIOS prior to receiving and using the new, revised modules that are being processed to replace your returned Ballistix modules. The latency timings have not changed.
Now the new ones that they will send me...are they any better or is it the one sided one that are weaker?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 02:16 PM   #28 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Nice.... No idea on the ram.. guess you'll find out.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 07:46 PM   #29 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Nice.... No idea on the ram.. guess you'll find out.
i remember some of the guys over here mentioning that the newer ballistix were weaker ...so i was wondering if the ones i'll be getting are the weak ones!
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reformatted computer, but have problems.. ruderitalin Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-11-2008 09:40 PM
crazy booting problems (emphasis in the "s") damiancds Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-02-2008 06:53 PM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM
hardware CPU load monitor?! does such a thing exist? David.VH Off Topic Discussion 7 07-05-2007 05:29 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.