Hardware problems still exist... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2009, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Hardware problems still exist...

So i got my mobo back from the RMA...it was the exact same mobo i sent it so i guess they just repaired it...well i thought they did.
Still doesnt work and same problem...

Which is.

I turn it on...all fan lights go on...everythings running except that it doesnt even get to the bios screen...
I doubt that its ram...
Can it by my cpu? or psu?
any idea guys?? this is so frustratin...i've been out of my pc for like 4 months now
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 11:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Mobos aren't usually "repaired", just replaced. Sounds like they tried it, it "worked" and they shipped it back, probably figuring it was something in your system, as far as hardware configuration is concerned. I'd get right on the horn w/ them asap, myself.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
Mobos aren't usually "repaired", just replaced. Sounds like they tried it, it "worked" and they shipped it back, probably figuring it was something in your system, as far as hardware configuration is concerned. I'd get right on the horn w/ them asap, myself.
i shud've just messed around with it more so they actually wud need to send me a new one...

i guess i'll call them back tomorrow...and tell them it still doesnt work and see whats up!
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 02:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

can you test your components with another system?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 08:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitestick View Post
can you test your components with another system?
noppp...
i was thinkin of buyin the cheapest cpu in the store...but tehres no return on that...so itll be a waste if that doesnt work either
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Sure it's not yhour ram?

My p5n wouldn't boot with crucial ballistix... got a cheap, 36 bucks a gig, stick and it boot right up.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Sure it's not yhour ram?

My p5n wouldn't boot with crucial ballistix... got a cheap, 36 bucks a gig, stick and it boot right up.
i guess its not gonna harm buyin some cheap A** ram from micro....

i really hope it is the ram...i miss my pc so much....
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

We miss your folding
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

Ya i would contact them and find out exactly how they came to that conclusion.
what testing method they used.
you have a image on your monitor at all? if so where is it freezing same place?
no beeps at all?
bad ram cuase alot a wierd things, also a short or maybe check the connectors themselves from your PSU make sure something isnt pushed in or bent inside em screwing up contact.
Im taking shots in the dark here.
__________________
http://www.forum-signatures.com/wiza...3454627674.gif

Core i7 920, MSI X58 Plat. SLI, 6 Gigs Mushkin 1333,
Corsair TX750, Samsung Sata 2 500, VISTA 64 :cool:

UNIVAC: a device, which contained 20,000 vacuum tubes, occupied 1,500 square feet and weighed 40 tons; there was also a laptop version weighing 27 tons.
Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Hardware problems still exist...

So i bought a new mobo today thinkin that would fix the problem.. eh eh nop!
cant return it...o well
so i went back and bought another cpu thinkin that will DEFF fix the prob... NOOO
so now im stuck with a brand new mobo and cpu..and a non workin computer

what else can this be????
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reformatted computer, but have problems.. ruderitalin Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-11-2008 09:40 PM
crazy booting problems (emphasis in the "s") damiancds Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-02-2008 06:53 PM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM
hardware CPU load monitor?! does such a thing exist? David.VH Off Topic Discussion 7 07-05-2007 05:29 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.