Hardware Problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2009, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Question Hardware Problem?

Hey there,

I have a really old Alienware desktop, about 8 years old and it works fine for the most part. Occasionally though, it won't boot up properly. It will turn on and the monitor will come on for just a second I'll see the "power save" and then the monitor will shut off. The PC itself seems to be on. Not sure if it's actually the monitor or the PC. I've turned the monitor on and off and it still just does the same thing. It will turn on "power save" comes up and then it shuts off. I even unplugged it and replugged to see if that would help. Any suggestions on what could be done about this or even what's causing it?

Thanks!
__________________

tophatmadness is offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hardware Problem?

Have you checked the cable from the computer to the monitor on both ends?

Generally you get that message when there is no signal to the monitor.

You can try another monitor as well.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Hardware Problem?

I tried a different monitor and it also went into power save also. I'm not sure exactly what the problem is. I was thinking it's the video card or power supply. Not sure where I should go from here.
tophatmadness is offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hardware Problem?

reseat gpu and psu connections into it if applicable.

Does your board have onboard graphics as well? If so try plugging into that in case something reset in bios.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Troubleshooting Procedure List Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 11-22-2013 04:58 PM
strange power problem: no boot, LED flicker, angry floppy drive AskMeAboutRNA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2008 08:36 PM
Hardware Problem kenny c Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 10-01-2007 07:46 PM
Audio Problem.... sab3156 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-22-2007 10:53 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.