Hardware Problem! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2009, 09:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xpedient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Default Hardware Problem!

My cousin's pc had a hardware problem i think... when the pc is open for about 2 hours, it shuts down... and when we restart it, it doesnt start up even at bios and we noticed that the cdrom is reading... that's weird, the cdrom's up but the power is off... what seems to be the problem here?
__________________

__________________
"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...
AND THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING ELSE."

xpedient is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Hardware Problem!

Need a few more details, like what is the setup, what are the specs of hte computer in question?

I would say if the computer is on for a long time, during that time works fine then randomly shuts off that it is overheating. Try cleaning all fans out with a can of air and ensure that all fans are running.

I'm sure what you are experiencing is that the CD ROM is the first boot device, and the BIOS screen goes by before the monitor even turns on. So you essentially see nothing, hear the computer checking the CD Rom to see if there is a bootable device.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 10:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Hardware Problem!

Quote:
I'm sure what you are experiencing is that the CD ROM is the first boot device, and the BIOS screen goes by before the monitor even turns on. So you essentially see nothing, hear the computer checking the CD Rom to see if there is a bootable device.
If that was so then it would sit at a screen saying "insert boot disk" (or something of the like)...are you experiencing this?
By the way you wrote it i can not tell if you have been able to start it up again, or is it unable to start at all after a few tries?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Hardware Problem!

No Luke, I mean he would hear the CD rom spin for a few seconds. THis happens all the time on my computers that check the CD rom for a boot device before the HD. The BIOS request the CD rom spin to see if there is are boot files on the CD rom (or DVD).

I don't mean it in the sense that it is asking to boot from the CD, i'm saying the BIOS is checking to see if there is a bootable device in the drive, notices there isn't and continues on with the normal boot sequence.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Hardware Problem!

Quote:
No Luke, I mean he would hear the CD rom spin for a few seconds. THis happens all the time on my computers that check the CD rom for a boot device before the HD. The BIOS request the CD rom spin to see if there is are boot files on the CD rom
Sorry, i miss understood you. I thought you meant something else. I know what you mean now.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xpedient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Default Re: Hardware Problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
If that was so then it would sit at a screen saying "insert boot disk" (or something of the like)...are you experiencing this?
By the way you wrote it i can not tell if you have been able to start it up again, or is it unable to start at all after a few tries?
its starting sometimes but then again, it would not... its random...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
No Luke, I mean he would hear the CD rom spin for a few seconds. THis happens all the time on my computers that check the CD rom for a boot device before the HD. The BIOS request the CD rom spin to see if there is are boot files on the CD rom (or DVD).

I don't mean it in the sense that it is asking to boot from the CD, i'm saying the BIOS is checking to see if there is a bootable device in the drive, notices there isn't and continues on with the normal boot sequence.
there is no display... fans are rotating as normal... cdrom is blinking... i switched over to integrated video to rule out the video card and the result is the "no signal" sign blinking in the screen... its just like it powers on and powers off in a fast rate... im sorry i cant fully express myself in english, forgive me readers... hehe!
__________________
"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...
AND THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING ELSE."

xpedient is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Hardware Problem!

Your English is fine, in fact I think it is better than some people with which English is their first language

Sounds like a dead hard drive. You should put in a Linux Live CD and pull what data you can off of the drive. Then look at replacing the hard drive. You could just reformat the drive first to see if the problem happens again, but IMO once a drive dies you should just recycle it and get a new one.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange power problem: no boot, LED flicker, angry floppy drive AskMeAboutRNA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2008 08:36 PM
sysfader.exe possible route of my problem? wargence Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-25-2008 06:41 PM
Hardware Problem kenny c Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 10-01-2007 07:46 PM
Audio Problem.... sab3156 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-22-2007 10:53 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.