Hardware Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2007, 06:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Hardware Problem

I built a pc for a friend but can not seem to get it to work. The computer freezes every couple of minutes when trying to install the OS. After several attempts the OS installed but freezes continued randomly. Tried a different HD in bare bones and still have freezes. Have tested the RAM as well. Have no way of testing the video card as its PCI-E but I don't think it's the problem. Power supply has also been tested.

Motherboard? CPU? Any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance,
-Kenny
__________________

kenny c is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Hardware Problem

CPU or Mobo definitely. Are you sure the heatsink is secure. Try to replace the mobo and cpu.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hardware Problem

Double checking heatsink atm. System seems to run okay in safemode. So maybe getting too hot under stress?
kenny c is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Hardware Problem

How much thermal paste did you apply. The restarting can be cause by overheating. It lags, then cools down and runs again.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Hardware Problem

Boot up into the bios and watch the idle temps. If it is running ok in safe mode it is either overheating or you have a driver issue.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hardware Problem

Just removed heatsink from CPU. It was on there nice and snug -- maybe even too much? Realized i have no arctic silver so I'll have to wait a couple days to test it out again. Don't have any other mobo/cpu that are compatible with either of these to test out =/
kenny c is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 06:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hardware Problem

CPU Idles at 31 for a couple minutes then begins to climb. CPU fan is faulty I'm thinkin. Thanks much for the help guys.
kenny c is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 07:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hardware Problem

Well I got the HSF working again and in bios it doesn't seem to go higher than 37. Still have the freezes when in OS and running things though. Trying to find a program to monitor temp. but can't keep it on long enough to get one.

Any new thoughts?
kenny c is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Hardware Problem

if it runs in safe mode, it sounds like some sort of driver error since safe mode just stops all the drivers except the ones needed to run the system
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 07:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hardware Problem

I agree on the safemode part but even before then it would freeze when installing OS on the fresh drive. Different HD in the same comp still produced the freezes as well. =(

edit: now freezing during safemode
__________________

kenny c is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM
my computer hardware problem has been found...... Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-12-2007 04:33 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM
Problem with my hardware responding to my computer. Carl133 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-23-2007 09:21 PM
Hardware problem fufonzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-09-2007 10:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.