Hardware problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2006, 02:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Exclamation Hardware problem

Hi all.

I have newly purchased a computer. configuration are : Intel desktop board D946GZIS, Processor - 2.4 (Intel core to duo) Ram (Simmtronics - DDR2 512 Mb, 533 MHz ). my problem is when i start my computer it start normally. but when i restart or change the setup (Bios) setting, it is giving 3 beeps and does not show any screen but fan and light run normally. after that i turn off the power and start it again it boot normally. please solve my problem.

I m waiting for your reply.


arya_s is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 03:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76

What is the type of bios and version ?
American Megatrends Inc. (AMI BIOS)

Award BIOS

Phoenix BIOS

Other Brand
It should be listed in the manual or if you can get into the bios it will tell you there.
Or if you can get to the boot screen it will tell you on top left

schusterjo is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3

Thanks for reply. My BIOS is (INTEL) D946GZIS and ver. is 0048.

arya_s is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
brinks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144

3 beeps - Base 64 K memory failure

* Reseat the memory.
* Make sure that the contacts on the memory and the socket are clean.
* Try removing one bank of memory modules at a time. Note: Some systems might need to have a memory module in Bank 0.
* Try using RAM chips from the same manufacturer with the same part number and speed.
* Check for a faulty memory module by trying the memory in a known good system.
* Trying known good memory in the system.
* Check the power supply and check for power fluctuations.
* Swap the motherboard.

You should run memtest and see if there is any errors.
brinks is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3

Thanks. I have changed my ram with samsung 533, 512, DDR2. now my system is working properly.

arya_s is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.