hardware overheating? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default hardware overheating?

Just to start off as far as i can tell my problem is being cause by overheating.

I was playing CS:S doing my usual and it exited without me clicking a thing i got a couple "end now" boxes like normal when i shutdown, and then my computer restarted itself, i turned it back on and it done it again (this happened about 3 times, even in Safe Mode).

I let it sit for a while (off) and it's been working fine, so my only guess is that something overheated.

My video card (XFX 6600GT) runs at about 65C average and i have no way of reading my CPU temp (P4 3.0GHz)

I'm posting just to see if anyone can help me and make sure my suspictions are correct.
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

download everest:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181

then once installed click on computer in the left hand column then sensor it will show your CPU, graphics card and hard drive temps. It will also tell you how fast your fan is running.

Post back once you have your temps monitored.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

Just used a simple method of fixing it,

i took it out and the computer has been running fine, although i did come to find out my computer was infected and i had to dump HD (sadly), but i'll have to mess with the video card

Although i do beleive the problem was the fact that my computer was infected.



just a quick question my CPU is running at about 54C (not under load) is this rather hot? Personally i think it is but, an answer from someone that knows more about CPU temps would help
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 06:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

its a little hot for my comfort mine runs 38 idle and 44 on full load. and my CPU is overclocked.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 06:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
its a little hot for my comfort mine runs 38 idle and 44 on full load. and my CPU is overclocked.
You're also comparing vastly different CPUs and probably climates as well.

I don't know much about Intel CPU's so I couldn't tell ya. Generally, yeah 54C isn't too good to be sitting at just for idle especially. The intel prescott chips ran really hot though I believe.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 06:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

oops didnt notice it was intel lol oh well Im still in my underwear after just getting out of bed
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

nice

but, do you think a new CPU HSF is in order? I'm still running the Stock
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 04:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
download everest:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181

then once installed click on computer in the left hand column then sensor it will show your CPU, graphics card and hard drive temps. It will also tell you how fast your fan is running.

Post back once you have your temps monitored.

Also, SpeedFan is really good, i have it in my system tray so i can monitor my system temps.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

speed fan never did work right for me (incompadible i think)
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.