hardware monitor problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2007, 11:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default hardware monitor problem

ok i ve had this problem for long time now where after upgrading to latest vrsion of bios i lost my cpu fanspeed control, system1 fan lost completely and cpu voltage control is lost

and tried alot of things
just now notticed in sandra that it saysSiSoftware Sandra

Environment Monitor 1
Model : Winbond W83627(T)HF ISA
Version : 9.00
Mainboard Specific Support : No<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< <<
Auto Fan Speed Control : No<<<<<<<<<<<<< <<

i am 120% positive i had those and even the system monitor1 and 3 were there( tech support guy tried to argue that the sysmon3 is not monitored) but i trust my eyer more than him since i looked at it more than once.

heres a full printout of my mobo specs

is there any other info you guys need to maybe pinpoint possible troublespot?

Mainboard
Manufacturer : AOpen
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MPS Version : 1.40
Model : i915Pa-E
System BIOS : 06/21/2005-Grantsdale-6A79DAB9C-00
Chipset : Intel 915G/GV (Grantsdale)

System Memory Controller
Location : Mainboard
Error Correction Capability : None
Number of Memory Slots : 4
Maximum Installable Memory : 4GB
Bank0/1 - A0 : None None None None DIMM Synchronous SDRAM 512MB/64
Bank2/3 - A2 : Empty
Bank4/5 - A4 : None None None None DIMM Synchronous SDRAM 512MB/64
Bank6/7 - A3 : Empty

Chipset 1
Model : AOpen Inc 82915G/GV/GL/P/PL/GL Grantsdale Host Bridge/DRAM Controller
Bus(es) : ISA PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz data rate)
Maximum FSB Speed / Max Memory Speed : 4x 200MHz / 2x 266MHz
Width : 64-bit
HTT - Hyper-Threading Technology : Yes
IO Queue Depth : 12 request(s)

Chipset 1 Hub Interface
Type : DMI
Version : 1.00
Number of Ports : 4
In/Out Width : 4-bit / 4-bit
Multiplier : 3/1x

Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 256MB DDR-SDRAM 2.5-3-2-5 1CMD
Bank 1 : 256MB DDR-SDRAM 2.5-3-2-5 1CMD
Bank 4 : 256MB DDR-SDRAM 2.5-3-2-5 1CMD
Bank 5 : 256MB DDR-SDRAM 2.5-3-2-5 1CMD
Channels : 2
Speed : 2x 200MHz (400MHz data rate)
Multiplier : 1/1x
Width : 64-bit
Memory Controller in Processor : No
Performance Acceleration Technology : No
Refresh Rate : 7.80s
Power Save Mode : No
Fixed Hole Present : No

APIC 1
Version : 2.00
Multiplier : 1/2x
Maximum Interrupts : 24
IRQ Handler Engaged : Yes
Enhanced Support : Yes

Environment Monitor 1
Model : Winbond W83627(T)HF ISA
Version : 9.00
Mainboard Specific Support : No

Temperature Sensor(s)
Board Temperature : 42.0C / 107.6F
CPU Temperature : 39.5C / 103.1F td

Cooling Device(s)
Auto Fan Speed Control : No
CPU Fan Speed : 2961rpm

Voltage Sensor(s)
CPU Voltage : 2.29V
Aux Voltage : 3.06V
+3.3V Voltage : 3.31V
+5V Voltage : 4.89V
+12V Voltage : 5.53V
-12V Voltage : 5.99V
-5V Voltage : -0.47V
Standby Voltage : 4.51V
Battery Voltage : 3.17V

PCI Bus(es) on Hub 1
Version : 2.30
Number of Bridges : 3
PCI Bus 0 : PCI (1/1x PCIClk)
PCI Bus 1 : PCIe (3/1x PCIClk)
PCI Bus 2 : PCIe (3/1x PCIClk)
PCI Bus 3 : PCI (1/1x PCIClk)
Number of PCIe Lanes : 17

LPC Hub Controller 1
Model : Intel Corporation 82801FB/FR ICH6/ICH6R LPC Interface Bridge
ACPI Power Management Enabled : Yes
Advanced TCO Mode Enabled : Yes
Delayed Transaction Enabled : Yes

LPC Hub Controller 2
Model : AOpen Inc 82801FB ICH6 SMBus Controller

USB Controller 1
Model : AOpen Inc 82801FB ICH6 USB UHCI Controller 1
Version : 1.10
Interface : UHCI
Channels : 2
Speed : 48MHz
Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

USB Controller 2
Model : AOpen Inc 82801FB ICH6 USB UHCI Controller 2
Version : 1.10
Interface : UHCI
Channels : 2
Speed : 48MHz
Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

USB Controller 3
Model : AOpen Inc 82801FB ICH6 USB UHCI Controller 3
Version : 1.10
Interface : UHCI
Channels : 2
Speed : 48MHz
Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

USB Controller 4
Model : AOpen Inc 82801FB ICH6 USB UHCI Controller 4
Version : 1.10
Interface : UHCI
Channels : 2
Speed : 48MHz
Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

USB Controller 5
Model : AOpen Inc 82801FB ICH6 USB 2.0 EHCI Controller
Version : 2.00
Specification : 1.00
Interface : EHCI
Channels : 8
Companion Controllers : 4
Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps) High (480Mbps)
Addressing Support : 64-bit
Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

System SMBus Controller 1
Model : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus
Version : 0.03
Specification : 2.00
Advanced TCO Mode Enabled : Yes
Slave Device Enabled : Yes
PEC Support : Yes
Speed : 100kHz

Expansion Slot(s)
PCI0 (1h) : PCI 32-bit +5V +3.3V ModemRing PME Full-Length Available (Intel Corporation 82915G/P/PL Grantsdale Host-PCI Express Graphics Bridge)
PCI1 (2h) : PCI 32-bit +5V +3.3V ModemRing PME Full-Length Available
PCI2 (3h) : PCI 32-bit +5V +3.3V ModemRing PME Full-Length Available

Port Connector(s)
PRIMARY IDE : None - ATA / None
SECONDARY IDE : None - ATA / None
FDD : None - Floppy Disk / None
COM1 : Serial Port 16450 - 9 Pin Dual Inline / DB-9 pin male
COM2 : Serial Port 16450 - 9 Pin Dual Inline / DB-9 pin male
LPT1 : Parallel Port ECP/EPP - DB-25 pin female / DB-25 pin female
Keyboard : Keyboard - PS/2 / PS/2
PS/2 Mouse : Mouse - PS/2 / PS/2
USB0 : USB - None / None
USB1 : USB - None / None
USB2 : USB - None / None
USB3 : USB - None / None
USB4 : USB - None / None
USB5 : USB - None / None
USB6 : USB - None / None
USB7 : USB - None / None

Performance Tips
Notice 224 : SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
Tip 2511 : Some memory slots are free so the memory can be easily upgraded.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: hardware monitor problem

AOpen probably disabled those features in the new bios update. If you dont like it, revert back to the old bios. Just reflash it with the old file. I don't really see a problem here.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: hardware monitor problem

its kind of a problem tho since the the UBER AOPEN super sophisticated tool to flash bios from windows AKA EZwinflash is nowhere to be found ( i spent 2 hours lookin fro it yesterday during my final attempt to work on this problem and no sucess)

it apparently comes preloaded for certain version of bios

so i have that backup file called backup.bin and when i try to replace the bin file it wouldnt let me and sometimes it says its for the wrong motherboard

i downloaded winbond doctor and it gives me a runtime error also
i mean even in bios when i try to change cpu fan speed i set it custom speed at 33% and it doesnt affect actual speed at all..

whats the best tool to load bios from a floppy?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 02:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: hardware monitor problem

You should be able to boot from a floppy boot disk and run the .exe provided by AOpen to start the flash procedure.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: hardware monitor problem

ye all the exe are made to detect specific bios update version i tried to do that with the provided file but no luck is there a free award bios update prggie on th einternet?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: hardware monitor problem

Try the free program called rivatuner. It is a nice program with all the tools you need.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: hardware monitor problem

DUDE rivatunes is for display adapters not MOBO monitor
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got an old piece of Gigabyte hardware? b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-30-2007 04:24 AM
Stuck with dial up.......Good Hardware Controlled Modem? spikoman69 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 08-19-2007 10:38 PM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM
USB Key Hardware Firewall Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-29-2007 06:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.