Hardware Issue, is it PS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2005, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default Hardware Issue, is it PS?

Hey All,

Two times in the past 2 weeks my PC has made a clicking sound like when I first turn it on and starts to sound like it's going to shut down, but does not. This usually happens shortly after I turn it on (within 15-20 mins). What could this mean? Is this a sign the Power Supply may be dying? Any ideas would be appreciated, if it sounds like a PSU I'll order another one.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Can you explain the click ?
Have you ever heard a HDD make contact ?
Does it sound like scratching ?
How many clicks ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 03:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Once you said when you first turn it on, then you said after 15 minutes, which is it?

If it's when you first turn it on, see if your boot order is set to boot from the floppy first. When my PC is set to boot from floppy, and no floppy is in there, it makes a loud clicking sound, even after it's found the correct boot device.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Yeah what Bass said...
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Bleh, I butchered my own post. How it was meant to be said....

When I turn on my PC it always makes a clicking sound, fans coming on, hard disk firing etc. But only when I turn it on. NOW, in the past 2 weeks, I have booted up my PC and sometime within 5-10 minutes of being powered on it makes the clicking sound again. It literally sounds like it's losing power or going to restart or something. I don't know any better way to explain it :/ Everything runs fine, I have a battery backup so it's not a power surge or anything like that. The APC Powerchute software reports not electrical noise or power surges.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I would think that if its a PSU issue that your app would show some sort of power flux.

Its not your HDD scratching is it ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

It actually may be the hard disk making the click.. Should I be finding myself a new one?

Also, are there any good programs to completely backup a hard disk inclusing the boot sector so I can back up my primary and replace it?
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Norton Ghost. I would buy yourself a new HD and then put it in as a slave and then ghost your current configuration and os to the new drive. REmove the master (bad) drive and configure it as a slave. Boot to your new HD. I would then do some serious HD testing on the old drive.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 05:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Thank, Rico. Can you recomend a good program to do some testing on my current hard disk?
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 06:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I would think that the normal Checkdisk (Chdsk) would do a lot for you.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.