Hardware Failures - not sure which one - please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2006, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default Hardware Failures - not sure which one - please help

OK I went all out a few months ago and built my compuer from scratch.

Here's what I got:
AMD 64 X2 4400+
GeForce 7800 GT
2 Gigs Corsair TwinX Pro Series
A8N-SLI Deluxe
74 gig Western Digital Raptor Harddrive
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS

The first week I've had it occasionaly the computer would start up and the ASUS startup screen would look all blocky and miscolored. If I still let the entire thing boot up Windows would say there was an error with the graphics card. That happened about once every 10 start ups.

It has recently become worse. Some times it would freeze on the ASUS startup screen. Sometimes it would pass that and then try to load up Windows and that blue progress bar screen would come up and it would just go on forever without ever actually loading up anything. Sometimes it would get past that part and then load up windows but everything would be black and I couldn't do anything but move my mouse around.

The last few days I've been in the middle of doing something and it would blue screen and say there was a hardware failure. Other times when I boot up it would not recoginze that I had my SATA raptor harddrive installed. Then I would restart and it would recognize it.

Now today it's been doing the same things loading up Windows and giving me the black screen where I can't do anything (both normal boot and safe mode). I tried to repair my windows installation but when I get to the part where it asks me which installation to repair, I enter the appropriate one and it freezes.

In the past I've already reformatted my computer hoping that would fix some of the problems but things have only gotten worse over time.

Does this sound like a motherboard issue or maybe a harddrive issue or something? Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. I've got warranties on everything but I just need to figure out which one is causing all of the problems. Thanks!

gellin is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Either the graphics card or the MB.

You should swap the graphics card first if you can find one to swap it with.

If it still has a problem, it is the MB.

turtile is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360

When I put my PC together and booted for the first time, when I would go and install windows it would freeze up right in the middle of installation. Turns out I had a dead RAM stick. Just an idea but for kicks, remove one RAM stick, leaving the other one in. In my case, the first time I left the bad one in and I got NO screen. I tried the other one and everything worked great. If that doesn't work, just try switching components, removing all PCI devices, etc.
X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2

Thanks for the responses guys. Just a couple of questions for you.

How would swapping the graphics card have anything to do with the hard drive not being recognized?

As for the RAM, I have LED lights on the side that light up showing their usage and both of them seem to be functioning fine. I guess I could try switching in components to test it out. But the problem is that could take a while. These problems don't occur all the time which makes it even more difficult to figure out. I was just hoping someone already ran across something like this so I didn't have to do that.
gellin is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

It could be the GFX card since it is not displaying right. It might have a couple issues that conflict with the other devices (first BIOS to load up).

Its most likely the MB. But you should check the GFX card first just in case. Its a lot easier to do than taking apart the whole pc to take the MB out.

Since the video is messed up in the BIOS screen, it must be the card, MB, or the PSU and not the HD. The HD is only detected in that part. It would not effect the BIOS screen at all.

It could be the PSU. Which one do you have?
turtile is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30

Read where somebody had a similar problem and it turned out to be his sound card, but he had an old soundblaster "live" took it out and all was well...just a thought

Eddie Haskell is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.