Harddrive won't recognize full capacity... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2007, 01:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Kyotaka (sp?) wrote this in another bulletin, I think this will help

This is known as the 127GB barrier.
I'm guessing you installed windows with a CD that wasn't SP2 and just manually added the service pack.
You'll need to use Nlite to add sp2 onto your windows CD and then install it freshly.

nLite - Deployment Tool for the bootable Unattended Windows installation

there is a known work around by changing a registry setting then repartitioning, however you're better off doing a clean install.

EDIT:: It did not post the link with it, so here is the actual URL nLite - Deployment Tool for the bootable Unattended Windows installation
__________________

HighTechBMH is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 01:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Quote:
Originally Posted by HighTechBMH View Post
Kyotaka (sp?) wrote this in another bulletin, I think this will help

This is known as the 127GB barrier.
I'm guessing you installed windows with a CD that wasn't SP2 and just manually added the service pack.
You'll need to use Nlite to add sp2 onto your windows CD and then install it freshly.

nLite - Deployment Tool for the bootable Unattended Windows installation

there is a known work around by changing a registry setting then repartitioning, however you're better off doing a clean install.
WTF, I thought this thread was PROBLEM SOLVED
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 02:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
WTF, I thought this thread was PROBLEM SOLVED
I was unaware, My bad...
__________________

HighTechBMH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is my harddrive full ! there is nothing installed ! illnastyimpreza Microsoft Windows and Software 12 07-22-2007 08:39 PM
Spontaneous Harddrive Failure Mortiffer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-14-2007 04:13 AM
Full Tower Cases Showdown pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-28-2007 09:02 AM
External drive capacity suddenly changed! imer79 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-07-2007 12:53 AM
Fraps demo to Full Landis PC Gaming 3 03-25-2007 09:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.