Harddrive won't recognize full capacity... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2007, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Unhappy Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

First of all, this isn't the normal explanation for it...

I bought a 500 gig harddrive...which Samsung doesn't recognize as a product anymore...

Anyways, XP only recognizes it as 127 gigs...my bios recognizes the full 500 gigs...

Any ideas?
__________________

JT11 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Does the Windows Install CD include Service Pack 2? This is called the 48-bit LBA problem.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

No...but I have upgraded to it.
JT11 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Run>compmgmt.msc
Under Storage>Disk Management>Does it see the full size?

ALSO: Does the disc even include Service Pack 1?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Yep, it sees the full size. EDIT: Er, nevermind, it says 127 gigs capacity...although it does say 337 gigs unallocated...

And yes, I have SP2.



EDIT: It also says...465.76 gb online...

EDIT: I think I can just make a new partition to solve it...

EDIT: Guess I'll get some software to merge partitions.
JT11 is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 07:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

I have the same problem, i have a 160 gb hdd & windows is saying its 127 & i have un partitioned space = 22 gb ive tryed resizing my current partitions & it dosnt work it says i have no free space ? the only way around it is to create a new partition i hope someone has a fix for this....
kurtowns is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JT11 View Post
EDIT: Guess I'll get some software to merge partitions.
that sounds like a software JBOD and i have never heard of such a thing (mainly because it sounds like the worst idea ever)
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 04:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

In control panel/Computer Management/Storage/Disk Managment: Righnt click in the management pane for that drive and reformat and Allocate it to the full size. If it shows more than one partition, chose delete partition first for each partition and then right click to format and allocate the drive.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 10:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Partition Magic is ftw. symantec owns it now, I doubt it's chalked full of computer destroying viruses .

Worked flawlessly. Just merged my partition with the unallocated space.

EDIT: By the way, piracy here is "don't ask, don't tell" right? XD
JT11 is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 10:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Harddrive won't recognize full capacity...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoDirenzo View Post
In control panel/Computer Management/Storage/Disk Managment: Righnt click in the management pane for that drive and reformat and Allocate it to the full size. If it shows more than one partition, chose delete partition first for each partition and then right click to format and allocate the drive.
Formatting primary partition FTW

Quote:
Originally Posted by JT11 View Post
Partition Magic is ftw. symantec owns it now, I doubt it's chalked full of computer destroying viruses .

Worked flawlessly. Just merged my partition with the unallocated space.

EDIT: By the way, piracy here is "don't ask, don't tell" right? XD
Its ok to mention it in an obscure way, like : "dont ask, dont tell", " sources", "sharing", etc.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is my harddrive full ! there is nothing installed ! illnastyimpreza Microsoft Windows and Software 12 07-22-2007 08:39 PM
Spontaneous Harddrive Failure Mortiffer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-14-2007 04:13 AM
Full Tower Cases Showdown pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-28-2007 09:02 AM
External drive capacity suddenly changed! imer79 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-07-2007 12:53 AM
Fraps demo to Full Landis PC Gaming 3 03-25-2007 09:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.