Harddrive erased itself? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2005, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default Harddrive erased itself?

Hello, I recently installed a 200GB western digital hard drive in my computer as my secondary hard drive and use it for storage. My primary hardrive is a 80 Gb Western Digital. Recently the 200 GB hard drive started to randomly deleting some of my PDF and MPG. Then yesterday it just deleted about 90 % of all my musick , video, and PDF files. The folders were there but when I tried to open it it would say invalid or file is corrupt. Does anyone know why tis happen and if it is possible to get those files back. And what can I do to make sure that this doesnt happen again. Is the hard drive now totally useless?
__________________

KevFromNy is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You may have a bad harddrive. It obviously has bad sectors or missing clusters.

Some viruses Can do this.

my suggestion is to back up everything you think is important right now.

Then Have windows reformat it.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 04:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default

So will windows repair the bad sectors or do I need to get a new hard drive. Theres alot of information on there to back up
KevFromNy is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If you preform Chdsk on it, Windows CAN repair some damage, however: I would just reformat, Because if a reformat doesn't fix it, and the files continue to be lost or damaged, then the drive is bad and you should buy a new one.

Remmeber: Always back up any information you cannot live without.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Ok 2 more questions. I ran checkdisk and formated the drive but now I lost 70 gb. They just dissapeared. How do I get them back. And question 2 How do I backup an entire 200 gb hard drive. I have Nortons system works , would that help?
KevFromNy is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Thats the problem, its not seeing the full capacity of your HD.

what are u running? XP? what service pack?
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Im running windows xp with service pack 2
KevFromNy is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

right click my computer and go to manage, then go to disk management and look at it.

is it directly on your mobo?or do u have a card?
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Ok I did that and its only reconizing 128 of the 200 GB. Its an internal HD and its connected directy to my computer
KevFromNy is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

You dont see any unallocated space???

hmmmmmmmmm

what kinda computer is it?Or if its home built what motherboard is it?Go into the bios and see if it's seeing the full amount there.What did u use to format it?
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.