Harddrive and Computer transfer trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 09-24-2009, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Harddrive and Computer transfer trouble

So, I have a Seagate 750 GB HD filled with data. It is formatted to run with my MacBook. I have just recently built myself a Widows desktop. Now I want to transfer all of the data on the 750 GB Mac HD to my new 1 TB PC HD. So far I have been using my 16 GB thumbdrive to transfer it all which takes forever. I was looking for a faster way to do this. I know I can set up a connection between the two using a crossover cable or on my home network (however I'm not that good at the whole networking bit but trying to learn it). So I'm just wondering if any of you happen to know a more efficient way for me to do this.

Old 09-24-2009, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie

Default Re: Harddrive and Computer transfer trouble

I don't know anything about a Mac other than, I don't want one. But, I would try to plug it into the PC. Is it a SATA drive?

Old 09-24-2009, 08:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

It's a mac external which operates on a GUI partition. Windows typically uses a Fat32. Each is exclusive to the respective OS. I was wondering if there was any way to overcome this and transfer data in one large transfer...
Old 09-25-2009, 04:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackKnight View Post