Hard drive toast? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2005, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default Hard drive toast?

I am having problems booting up my first gaming computer build. I had my PSU set at 230V for a while and seemed to get nowhere, then further read in my PSU manual that it should be at 115V. After I switched it to 115V, it helped and actually started to install Windows until it got to a point where it stopped reading the CD. I came across this as a possible reason. But now I can't get back to where Windows installs to try and install those drivers. It just hangs up at the picture below. Did I destroy my hard drive by having it set at 230V like mentioned in this thread?
__________________

Cruo is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I doubt that your fried the hard drive.

Did you install the SATA drivers during setup? Your computer is recognizing the hard drive, but I can't tell if it can use it or not. According to the link you posted as a possible solution, I am assuming that you didn't.

Give the drivers a shot. Even if you did, try it again.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 11:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Well, I was finally able to get Windows to start installing like last time. This time I was able to get the drivers installed. But unfortunately, it keeps hanging up and says it can't read the CD no matter what I do. And yes, this is a brand new CD just bought days ago.
Cruo is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Ok all is fixed. Being the noob I am, I purchased the XP update, not the full version. I never bought an OS before, I always had store-bought computers. Luckily I was given a break and able to return it and pay the extra to get the full version. Cool, my first build and it is up and running with no damage.
Cruo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.