Hard Drive swap... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2008, 11:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Hard Drive swap...

One of my friends needed her computer reformatted but wanted to keep all of her content on the HD. Is there a easy way to do this if I do not have an extra HD to swap it to for the time being?
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

how much content are we talking about?


do it the way i do it with clients....

"here is one, count'em ONE DVD to back up all of your important files... anything not on this DVD goes bye bye in T-Minus 10 minutes, time starting.... now."
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

haha I wish it was that easy, but she has alot of audio, docs, pics and video which takes up alot of storage space. Any ideas?
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

Um there is no other way to back up data unless you want to use DVD's or an external hard drive. They are your only options
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

I was just wondering if there is a website or something to upload large amount of data for temp storage or something. But I guess Ill have to buy a cheap hd to temp hold the files then transfer them back. :/
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

is this computer that needs to be formatted on a network attached to other computers?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

unfortunately not
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

windows vista computer?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

no xp, but i know vista uses that restore partition on the hd that I could use...
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 01:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Hard Drive swap...

If there is plenty of free space you could shrink the C: drive enough to create a secondary partition. Format the second partition and then move the data over to the new E: (or whatever) drive. You can leave it way or resize it back.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive noise Asterix Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-10-2008 04:03 PM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive occasionally clicking Mr. tech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 04-30-2007 08:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.