Hard Drive Recovery Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2012, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Default Hard Drive Recovery Help

Hi I Have a WD 250GB Hard Drive from My LT3100 and still has all my files.
What i want to know is.

If I Put a Hard Drive with Data from another computer into my PC will it harm the PC?
(Both Computers are Gateway and Run on Windows 7)
__________________

DrParanoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Hard Drive Recovery Help

As a primary or secondary? You can just connect the WD 250GB into your computer as a non-boot device. You can still read the data off of it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: Hard Drive Recovery Help

How can I Do Either One? I Like to format it tho and then use it as a primary.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
As a primary or secondary? You can just connect the WD 250GB into your computer as a non-boot device. You can still read the data off of it.
DrParanoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,076
Default Re: Hard Drive Recovery Help

you can format the 250gb and clone it with your old drive to make the 250gb drive your primary C:/ drive
You can get the software from Western Digital to clone the drive
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Hard Drive Recovery Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrParanoid View Post
How can I Do Either One? I Like to format it tho and then use it as a primary.
Hook it up as a secondary and copy the data over.

After you back up the data from the drive, you can format it and clone the drive over if you wish with Clonezilla.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing windows from a HP recovery drive on a new hard drive? brian1649 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 09-12-2011 02:28 PM
Hard Drive Recovery? cyclones Microsoft Windows and Software 2 02-04-2011 11:44 PM
Hard Drive Data Recovery SuperiorAssassin Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-12-2009 01:02 AM
Hard drive recovery help (windows 98 hard drive jmxtx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-13-2008 03:33 AM
hard drive recovery Lowfront Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 01-01-2006 05:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.