Hard Drive Problems (I Think) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default Hard Drive Problems (I Think)

I think this is in the right place. Anyway about a month ago, I partitioned my Hard Drive so that 150 gigs would be Windows XP Home Edition and the other 80+ gigs to be Windows XP 64 Edition. Well Yesterday I formatted the Home Edition side because it got plagued with viruses from Limewire. Now here is the problem: When my computer boots, it doesn't detect the XP 64 partition and moves on to boot into Home Edition. However In Windows, it detects the XP 64 Edition. I have upgraded my bios to see if this would help, but unfortunatly it didn't. My system specs are posted below if it helps anyone:

AMD Athlon 3200+ socket 939
Biostar NF4ST-A9 motherboard
1 gig of value ram (I think it's Corsair, i'm not sure)
250 gig WD sata 150 hard drive
Dynex 5.1 soundcard
evga 6600 256 mb video card
__________________

robertconley619 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

download attached text file , goto start-->run-->notepad c:\boot.ini and delete all and copy & paste from the text file & save
Attached Files
File Type: txt doc.txt (295 Bytes, 41 views)
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 09:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

My bios didn't like it, it said "error read C:\boot.ini" then it went into Home Edition again.....
__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

theres no connection whatsoever to the bios , there never was
did you copy & paste from the text file? or just copied paste before i edited the message and added it? i added it cuz it didnt paste well

assuming you did use the text file it should have worked fine , if you have 1 hard drive and the XP HOME is in C: and X64 in D: that is , if thats not the case then give some more details
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

I used your text file and I have 1 Hard drive and XP Home is C: and X64 is D:. But here is something I thought about. When I did this a month ago, XP Home was C: and X64 was E: because my DVD burner was D:. But now the burner is E: and as I said in the first sentence, Home is C: while X64 is D:. Could this be the problem?
__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

nope , attach c:\boot.ini and ill have a look
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 01:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

[boot loader] timeout=30 default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S [operating systems] multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Windo ws XP Home" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Windo ws XP Professional x64" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect


Also the message said "Invalid Boot.ini, Booting into C:\Windows"
__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

by "attach" i meant youll do a full reply (by clicking the "post a reply" button at the bottom right and adding it under "attach file") , anyway use the recovery console http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;307654 do bootcfg /rebuild , and attach the new boot.ini
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 12:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

Interesting...........
Using the recovery console I was able to set up the partitions but when i tried getting into X64, I got the following message:

Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
<Windows root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
Please reinstall a copy of the above file


I wonder how that happened.......anyway I added the boot.ini below jeremy in zip because the attachment thingy didnt like it as a txt for some reason
Attached Files
File Type: zip boot.zip (319 Bytes, 4 views)
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

download attachment , unzip and run and click "install" , it will replace the boot.ini with a good one , if it wont fix the ntoskrnl issue then put in the x64 cd and boot into the recovery console , and do
expand x:\i386\ntoskrnl.ex_ d:\windows\system32 , before doing it better run a search on the x64 cd for ntoskrnl.ex_ cuz im not sure its in the same folder on the x64 edition , x = cd drive letter..
Attached Files
File Type: zip bootfile.zip (49.4 KB, 6 views)
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.