hard drive problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2007, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default hard drive problems

HI


I recently bought and installed a new hard drive into my computer. But the problem is with the amount of memory it shows. When I go into the disk management, it says the drive is only 4.8 gigs, instead of the 80 gigs it should say. Its a seagate IDE barracuda. I am running windows xp sp 2
does anyone have any idea what is wrong with it?
thanks



-D'artagnan
__________________

Sewercake is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default Re: hard drive problems

First, take it out and look at the jumper settings on the back of the hard drive. Some hard drives have a jumper setting that limits it to a certain size. This is a weird problem, I haven't see it before. Try plugging it into a different IDE slot on your board.
__________________

__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: hard drive problems

Is this a second hard drive without an OS on it?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: hard drive problems

like said, check the jumpers to make sure they aren't set to "limit drive size"

Once you've done that, go to start -> run
run "diskmgmt.msc" (without quotes)
you can reformat and/or repartition the drive from there.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 05:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: hard drive problems

Yes, this is a second hard drive, which I am using for linux. I have checked the jumpers and they seem fine. I tried the auto detecting junk, but taht didn't work either. Are there any barriers I have to pass? When I go to the disk management or whatever, it says unallocated. I think I am going to take it back and see If I can exchange and see if it will work then.
thanks



-Sewercake
Sewercake is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: hard drive problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
like said, check the jumpers to make sure they aren't set to "limit drive size"

Once you've done that, go to start -> run
run "diskmgmt.msc" (without quotes)
you can reformat and/or repartition the drive from there.

Do what the man said its all that is wrong with your hard drive it needs formated.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: hard drive problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sewercake View Post
Yes, this is a second hard drive, which I am using for linux. I have checked the jumpers and they seem fine. I tried the auto detecting junk, but taht didn't work either. Are there any barriers I have to pass? When I go to the disk management or whatever, it says unallocated. I think I am going to take it back and see If I can exchange and see if it will work then.
thanks



-Sewercake
I had a similar problem with a 2yr old seagate. I went to 3 diffrnt forums and each and everytime I was told to check jumpers. Long story short, the drive was bad. Just bcus its new doesnt mean it is a perfect drive. Just return it. Good luck
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on hard drive quality? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-28-2007 12:48 AM
e6400 OCing problems Higach Overclocking and Modding 7 03-27-2007 07:30 PM
Hard drive space? sprtnbsblplya Off Topic Discussion 10 03-27-2007 10:12 AM
Couple Of Problems. Shrimp Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-26-2007 12:42 AM
SmitFraud-C Toolbar888 Problems infantryman Viruses, Spyware and Malware 3 03-25-2007 07:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.