Hard drive problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2006, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Default Hard drive problems

Hi, ok I have a hard drive problem and im wondering if anyone can help,
I have bought a new pc which has a SATA hard drive, with no OS on it, but I have an older IDE hard drive which does have an OS on it, right now the computer is booting up from the SATA hard drive, and Im trying to make it boot from the IDE hard drive - is this possible? and how do I do it if it is possible?
__________________

CCGames is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Enter the CMOS Setup and switch around the Boot Priority list.

For the OS to work on the new PC you will have to run a repair or reinstall using the windows XP disc that was USED on that SPECIFIC harddrive.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Default

Enter the bios,
When the computer begins to boot you see the first screen start pressing "delete" (Look at the bottom somewhere it will tell you what key to press to enter the bios on that first mem test screen)

Next you will need to navigate threw the bios and find Your hardrives. They will be listed As HD 0, HD1 find out which one is your IDE (it will be labeled) then locate "boot order" in the bios
Set 1st floppy 2nd CD ROM 3rd Hard drive Do not boot any other
schusterjo is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 01:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Ok the thing about it is : The windows disk I used was a manufacturer made one (for my computer) but I was hoping that it would still work, if I used the same hard drive, will I need to buy another windows disk?
CCGames is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 01:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You can try using it, but its unlikely that it will work.
IMO backup important data, then try it. If it doesn't work then you gotta buy it.

(Coughortorrcoughent)
Ste is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Well, I made the computer boot from the IDE hard drive and it asks me to enter a product key for windows xp home ( which I have ) but it crashes after I try to enter it, should I just format both hard drives and try a fresh install?
CCGames is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Yup, Back up important data first.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 02:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Default

So I will definetly have to get a new windows xp home disk? I ask because I would rather use the product key I already have, instead of having to spend so much money for another.
CCGames is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Another question (sorry for the double post)
Is there any way other than using windows xp service pack 1 to get a USB 2.0 driver? the disk I got with my motherboard says I should download windows xp service pack 1, but since my modem connects via USB 2 port, its very slow downloading.
CCGames is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 02:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well Like I said, you don't have to buy it. You Got PM.

No Idea, wth kind of modem only connects through USB.

You could possible use a USB memory stick to download from another PC then transfer it.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.