Hard Drive Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2009, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default Hard Drive Problem

I'm running Vista Ultimate x86 on my primary hard drive (an IDE), and I just got a new 1TB SATA drive. I got the drive from newegg labeled "bare drive." I've installed the drive, and I've become fairly perplexed. It seems the drive doesn't show up in my "Computer" folder, but it shows up on Western Digital Data Lifeguard Diagnostic, under the category "Physical drives." All the other drives were listed as logical drives.

I'm wondering, could this mean I need a jumper? The drive itself doesn't have a handy diagram of jumper configurations, nor did it come with a handbook. What else could the problem be?
__________________

Zpoon is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 02:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Hard Drive Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zpoon View Post
I'm running Vista Ultimate x86 on my primary hard drive (an IDE), and I just got a new 1TB SATA drive. I got the drive from newegg labeled "bare drive." I've installed the drive, and I've become fairly perplexed. It seems the drive doesn't show up in my "Computer" folder, but it shows up on Western Digital Data Lifeguard Diagnostic, under the category "Physical drives." All the other drives were listed as logical drives.

I'm wondering, could this mean I need a jumper? The drive itself doesn't have a handy diagram of jumper configurations, nor did it come with a handbook. What else could the problem be?
Format it yet ? Or was it pre-formatted ? Needs to be formatted to NTFS and make the disk active. Might help any way.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hard Drive Problem

Sata drives dont require jumpers as sata drives are automatically given a number. If you look on your mobo at your sata ports they will say sata 1 sata 2 ect. Now im not too familiar with vista but i think its the same concept as xp. right click my computer and click manage. Then look in the right list pane and find disk management. if your sata drive appears here it should say unallocated if so right click on the gray graphic that says unallocated and click formatt in the drop down menu. from there you can follow te wizard.
supawiz6991 is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 03:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Hard Drive Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by supawiz6991 View Post
Sata drives dont require jumpers as sata drives are automatically given a number. If you look on your mobo at your sata ports they will say sata 1 sata 2 ect. Now im not too familiar with vista but i think its the same concept as xp. right click my computer and click manage. Then look in the right list pane and find disk management. if your sata drive appears here it should say unallocated if so right click on the gray graphic that says unallocated and click formatt in the drop down menu. from there you can follow te wizard.
Some SATA drives do have jumpers, as in the case of some Western Digital SATA drives (Source: http://www.wdc.com/en/library/sata/2779-001006.pdf).

NOTE: Did you look in your BIOS setup to check settings there ? It needs to be recognized by in BIOS, then after the system is booted up, format it to NTFS.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (28.5 KB, 53 views)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 04:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Drive Problem

How about going into disk management, activate the drive, format and away you go.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 04:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Hard Drive Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
How about going into disk management, activate the drive, format and away you go.
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
Format it yet ? Or was it pre-formatted ? Needs to be formatted to NTFS and make the disk active. Might help any way.
close ?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 05:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Drive Problem

Very. Just missing the disk management as many want to do it via my computer and if it is not active it will not show there which appears to be the case in this situation.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 09:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Hard Drive Problem

Hefe, this is why you ARE the MAN
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
External Hard Drive Problem sanders2021 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-07-2008 02:57 PM
USB 2.0 Hard Drive Enclosure problem Beauford Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-13-2008 01:30 AM
weird hard drive/ OS problem deejayfiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-11-2007 08:34 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.